Kloof to the fore de­spite Sel­borne’s slick greens

The Mercury - - SPORT - David Rush

KLOOF Coun­try Club dom­i­nated af­fairs at this year’s KwaZulu-Natal In­ter­club golf tour­na­ment, held at Sel­borne Park, Um­doni Park and Scot­tburgh golf cour­ses.

Kloof won the A and B di­vi­sions, beat­ing Dur­ban CC and South­b­room GC in the re­spec­tive fi­nals.

Umko­maas GC won the Frog di­vi­sion, while Dur­ban CC won the hugely pop­u­lar Se­nior Frog di­vi­sion.

In the A di­vi­sion, the ef­fer­ves­cent Mark Cox beat Ash­win Kr­ishen 2/1 de­spite a se­ries of back nine three-putts which ev­ery­one got to hear about.

To be fair, putting on Sel­borne’s slick greens in that ‘beast­erly’ wind was no easy thing.

Dar­ryn My­ers saw off an out-of­sorts Sean Fenger 4/3, who, if he didn’t have back luck wouldn’t have had any luck at all.

Gareth Atkin­son had a tight game against Jason Broom­head, which ended in a half.

In an amus­ing mo­ment, Broom­head hit his tee shot into the bush on the 14th where the search crew found four other balls, but not his.

In the semi-fi­nals, Dur­ban CC beat Vry­heid (Corné van Deven­ter, Ryno Crous and An­dré Smit) and Kloof beat de­fend­ing cham­pi­ons Mount Edge­combe (Graeme Inggs, Luke van den Bergh and Steve Cullen).

When it came to the B di­vi­sion, Guy O’Con­nor, Bradley Jones and Ste­wart The­unis­sen won back the tro­phy they lost to Um­doni Park last year.

Jones beat Kevin Mur­ray 5/4, The­unis­sen beat Gary Purtell 2/1 and O’Con­nor lost to Gavin Sole 3/2, but put up a de­cent fight.

South­b­room have now lost in six, maybe seven B di­vi­sion fi­nals over the years. No one is sure what will come first: A World Cup win for the Proteas, or a B di­vi­sion ti­tle for the boys from down south.

In the semi-fi­nals Kloof beat Vic­to­ria, while South­b­room had a walkover af­ter Scot­tburgh with­drew.

Umko­maas pulled off a rare hat trick, beat­ing Gowrie Farm in the fi­nal.

Saga Reddy and Viv Naicker pro­duced com­fort­able wins against By­ron Ugl­janin and Nico McNa­mara re­spec­tively, 5/3 and 4/3.

Tal­is­manic Moon­samy Nel­son lost to Pitso Molefe 3/2, but strug­gled dur­ing the day with his back. Still though, there was no way he was go­ing to quit.

Los­ing semi-fi­nal­ists were Maidstone (Omar Singh, Alex Harker and Martin Harker) and Ethek­weni (Jimmy Ng­cobo, Muzi Dlamini and Mandla Khu­malo)

Dur­ban CC white­washed Sel­borne Park, de­spite it be­ing on their home track. Glen Pass­more beat Gary Leader, Lance White­ford saw off vet­eran Des Shep­herd, and Lagh­lan Gourlay tri­umphed against the one-handed chip­per Dar­ren Aiken.

They had a much tougher game in the morn­ing against club­mates Kurt Stander, Sean Cullen and Alan Chetty in the semi-fi­nals.

The Su­per Se­niors In­ter­provin­cial will be held at Pezula from De­cem­ber 4 to 8 this year.

The team is Richard Nel (cap­tain – Mar­itzburg GC), Lyn­ton Beck­ett (Royal Dur­ban), Steve Cullen (Mount Edge­combe CC), Alan Erik­sen (Sel­borne Park), Poe­nie Holm (Dur­ban CC) and Max Mag­nussen (Bluff Na­tional). The man­ager is Brian Olsen.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.