Close com­bat in lo­cal rally

Mere sec­onds sep­a­rate rid­ers and driv­ers in first round of KZN rally club cham­pi­onship

The Witness - Wheels - - MOTORING - DE­BRA DE WIT

KZN’s 2015 rally sea­son started in Dal­ton last week­end with the first of nine rounds that saw nine cars and six quad bikes race each other on the smooth sugar cane tracks.

Less than 50 sec­onds sep­a­rated the top three rally fin­ish­ers and mere sec­onds the quad bike rid­ers.

Prov­ing you can’t buy ex­pe­ri­ence, multi-na­tional and re­gional cham­pi­onship win­ner, Pi­eter­mar­itzburg’s Chris De Wit and nav­i­ga­tor Brian Clifton set the pace from start to a win­ning fin­ish, Dean Redelinghuys and Amon Meyiwa placed as the sec­ond car.

Tony Ball in his sin­gle seater off-road bat was mere sec­onds be­hind Redel­inghuis through­out the event.

Ball usu­ally com­petes in a Golf, but his new nav­i­ga­tor Wade Har­ris was com­pet­ing in the na­tion­als with the Ford Rac­ing Team.

Ber­tus Labuschagne and Peter Chad­wick placed fourth over­all.

The event wel­comed two new teams, both in Toy­ota Con­quests. En­joy­ing the fast thrill of of­fi­cial ral­ly­ing for the first time were Pi­eter­mar­itzburg’s Derek Ridge and brother An­drew, and Dur­ban’s Bryan Vaughan and Yari Brun­nings.

The quad bik­ers thrilled spec­ta­tors with their im­pres­sive ma­chines and times. Matthew Hendey on his Yamaha 450 kept up with De Wit in the rally car through­out the event to post an im­pres­sive win amongst the quad en­trants and a sec­ond over­all for the day. Gail Mitchell also im­pressed on her quad.

Dean Redel­inghuis and Amon Meyiwa were the most im­pres­sive driv­ers of day, post­ing some very com­pet­i­tive times and show­ing vast im­prove­ment on their pre­vi­ous form.

ABOVE: Tony Ball raced with­out his nav­i­ga­tor but still placed sec­ond over­all in the first round of the KZN rally club cham­pi­onships. Nine cars and six quad bik­ers were en­tered into the race.


BE­LOW: Gail Mitchell im­pressed all rid­ers with her de­ter­mi­na­tion in the race.


Chris de Wit and Brian Clifton.

Vaughan Robin­son and Ed­ward Standen.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.