Charged up for ePrix bat­tle

Jaguar eyes For­mula E to mark its re­turn to mo­tor­sport after an ab­sence of over a decade

The Witness - Wheels - - RACING - — Wheels Re­porter.

TEN teams will race in the third sea­son of the FIA For­mula E Cham­pi­onship, which starts on the streets of Hong Kong’s cen­tral busi­ness district on Oc­to­ber 9 and fin­ishes in New York in July next year.

Two teams are new to the world’s first fully elec­tric sin­gle­seater se­ries — Jaguar and Fara­day Fu­ture.

A third new name in the lineup, Chi­nese Techee­tah, is a name change after the China Me­dia Cap­i­tal (CMC) took over Team Aguri’s en­try. CMC is a pub­lic eq­uity and ven­ture cap­i­tal firm based in Shang­hai.

Jaguar chose For­mula E to mark its re­turn to mo­tor­sport after an ab­sence of over a decade,

Fara­day Fu­ture is an ad­vanced mo­bil­ity com­pany with head­quar­ters in Sil­i­con Val­ley and South­ern Cal­i­for­nia.

Fara­day Fu­ture an­nounced a long-term al­liance with the Amer­i­can auto racing team Dragon Racing, be­com­ing the core tech­ni­cal part­ner and ti­tle spon­sor of the team. The part­ner­ship will de­velop and test elec­tric car tech­nol­ogy to im­prove over­all driv­e­train per­for­mance to use in Fara­day Fu­ture’s pro­duc­tion ve­hi­cle from next year.

The 2016/17 FIA For­mula E Cham­pi­onship cal­en­dar fea­tures 14 races, to be staged in 12 of the world’s lead­ing cities, with dou­ble-head­ers in Montreal and New York.

In ad­di­tion to the ePrix, there will be a spe­cial event, the FIA Elec­tric Mo­bil­ity Fo­rum, which will take place in Las Ve­gas next year on Jan­uary 7, co-in­cid­ing with the start of the Dakar.

The 10 teams en­tered are:

– ABT Scha­ef­fler Audi Sport – An­dretti For­mula E – Fara­day Fu­ture Dragon Racing – DS Vir­gin Racing – Jaguar Racing – Mahin­dra Racing – Nex­tEV NIO – Re­nault e.Dams – Techee­tah – Ven­turi For­mula E.


The ex­plo­sive start to the For­mula E Cham­pi­onship in Malaysia last year.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.