Da Silva charged for taking da dive
LONDON: Uefa charged Arsenal striker Eduardo da Silva yesterday with “deceiving the referee” by diving to win a penalty in a Champions League victory over Celtic.
The Croatia international, who scored from the resulting spot kick, could be banned for Arsenal’s first two group stage matches.
Uefa believes Eduardo deliberately fell after running toward Celtic goalkeeper Artur Boruc in the 26th minute of Wednesday's Champions League playoff second leg.
“Having studied video evidence of the incident in question, the Uefa disciplinary inspector decided to charge the player concerned,” Uefa said .
”Players may be suspended for two competition matches, or for a specified period, for acting with the obvious intent to cause any match official to make an incorrect decision or supporting his error of judgement and thereby causing him to make an incorrect decision.”
Arsenal believes Eduardo, who broke his leg in 2008, may have been taking evasive action to avoid a repeat of the injury that sidelined him for a year.
“I think if you have had an injury like that it’s fairly natural that you might want to avoid significant contact,” said Arsenal chief executive Ivan Gazidis
Eduardo maintains some contact was made with the goalkeeper, according to Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger.
“I’ve spoken with him and he said he’d been touched slightly by the player,” Wenger said before Uefa charged Eduardo. “He is not a diver, this guy. He’s an honest guy.”
Wenger said he was sorry for the incident, but suggested that Celtic should “take it on the chin.”
“What I think does less harm is that over the two ties I don’t think that that penalty had any influence on the end result,” Wenger said. “That makes me a little bit less sad for Celtic, but I recognise it was no penalty.” – Sapa-AP