Weekend Argus (Saturday Edition) - - FRONT PAGE -

CHESS SA re­ported that the play­ers who were se­lected to rep­re­sent South Africa at the 2017 Zone 4.3 Chess Cham­pi­onships that will be held from 9-18 June 2017 in Liv­ing­stone, Zam­bia. Fol­low the event on chess-re­sults un­der the ZAM link.

Open Sec­tion: IM Daniel Cawdery, GM Kenny Solomon, FM Matt Pon, CM Lyn­don Bouah, CM Roland Bezuiden­hout

Woman Sec­tion: WIM Anzel Laub­scher, WFM Aleida de Bruyn, WCM Michelle Fisher, WFM Dan­telle Jou­bert

I ex­pected that Daniel Bar­rish might have been se­lected. I asked and he replied:

“Un­for­tu­nately I’m writ­ing ex­ams dur­ing the zon­als, but I’m go­ing to make up for it by play­ing two tour­neys in the Czech Repub­lic and hope­fully two in Spain, next month. Should be good!”

There are 4 ma­jor zonal di­vi­sions (Europe, Amer­i­cas, Asia/ Aus­tralia, Africa), with zones and sub-zones, that ev­ery Fide mem­ber na­tion is a part of.

So if you are talk­ing about the “Zone 1.3 Cham­pi­onship” you’re talk­ing about the zonal cham­pi­onship for the Nordics – Den­mark, Fin­land, Ice­land, Nor­way, Swe­den. The “3M 1W” be­low means that that Zone gets 3 qual­i­fiers for the Men’s World Cham­pi­onship, and 1 qual­i­fier for the Women’s World Cham­pi­onship.

So those zones will or­ga­nize a zonal tour­na­ment to al­lo­cate those places.

In some cases, the Zonal is sim­ply the na­tional cham­pi­onship (US, Canada, China, In­dia, Rus­sia, Ukraine, specif­i­cally), in oth­ers, it’s a more regional cham­pi­onship.

I vis­ited two zon­als in the 1960s and 1970s in Raach im Hochberg, Aus­tria and the Hague.

It was purely for spec­ta­tor en­joy­ment.

The win­ner in Aus­tria was Borislav Ivkov (born Novem­ber 12, 1933 in Bel­grade) a Ser­bian chess Grand­mas­ter.

He was a World cham­pi­onship can­di­date in 1965, and played in four more In­ter­zonal tour­na­ments, in 1967, 1970, 1973, and 1979.

He is a three time Yu­goslav Cham­pion (1958 joint, 1963 joint, 1972) and was the first World Ju­nior Cham­pion in 1951.

The win­ner at the Hague was co- in­ci­dently another Ser­bian rep­re­sent­ing Yu­goslavia — Sve­tosar Glig­oric. He won the cham­pi­onship of Yu­goslavia a record twelve times, and is con­sid­ered the best player ever from Ser­bia. In 1958 he was de­clared the best ath­lete of Yu­goslavia.

The SA open chess cham­pi­onship will be hosted in Dur­ban, Kwazulu-Natal from Fri­day July 14 to Sun­day 23 July.

All en­quiries may be ad­dressed to the LOC Con­venor, KZN Pres­i­dent Erick Takawira (

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.