Woman & Home (South Africa) - - Real Lives -

Dale He­fer, 52, owns a mar­ket­ing com­pany. She lives in Joburg’s Park­town North with her nineyear-old twins, James and Grace. MY HOME Thir­teen years ago, I was look­ing to move from the too-big Sax­on­wold house I’d been liv­ing in alone to some­thing more my speed. A sin­gle-storey Park­town North home caught my eye – the clincher was that, with a bit of work, I knew I could cre­ate the most beau­ti­ful view from the front door through to the end of the gar­den. Af­ter a year of ren­o­va­tions, my vi­sion came to life. As soon as you walk in, you see right through the house to the lush gar­den and wa­ter fea­ture at the back. I feel like I’ve cre­ated a haven in the heart of Joburg’s con­crete jun­gle.

MY WORK I’ve been in mar­ket­ing for over 20 years. In 2014, I sold my agency, Chillibush, and now own the In­te­grated Mar­ket­ing Con­fer­ence (IMC).

MY COM­MUTE My of­fice is only a three-minute drive away. I thrive on the en­ergy there and couldn’t imag­ine work­ing on my own at home.

MY FAVOURITE PLACE James, Grace and I love pop­ping into Panet­tone Café over­look­ing the Zoo Lake sports fields – it’s per­fect for kids, and we of­ten bump into other fam­i­lies we know there.

BEST THING ABOUT LIV­ING HERE Ev­ery­thing is so cen­tral. At least 10 close friends live within 4km of me, so it’s easy to or­gan­ise get-to­geth­ers. I’m also near superb restau­rants and shops, and am a stone’s throw away from work, the kids’ schools, and the re­cre­ation cen­tre where Grace trains for her pro­vin­cial gym­nas­tics.

THE DOWN­SIDE I miss the enor­mous drive­way at the old place – guests could al­ways park in­side.

MY COM­MU­NITY Even though Park­town North is just down the road from Sax­on­wold, the sense of com­mu­nity here is un­like any­thing I ex­pe­ri­enced in my old neigh­bour­hood. I know my lovely neigh­bours by name, and am part of the I love Park­town Face­book group, at­tend­ing many of its ini­tia­tives – Christ­mas in July is a fam­ily favourite.

WHAT I DO IN MY DOWN­TIME Any free time I have is spent do­ing one of two things – read­ing au­to­bi­ogra­phies or sim­ply hang­ing out with my twins. >>

‘Schools, restau­rants, the of­fice – they’re all so close!’

Dale and her kids found their per­fect home in Park­town

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from South Africa

© PressReader. All rights reserved.