Del­lon con­tin­ues to stamp his authority

Sunday Times (Sri Lanka) - - COMMENT -

S. Thomas' Col­lege ace left- arm spin­ner Del­lon Peiris, as he is known to his on-field abil­i­ties, con­tin­ues to rule the All-Is­land Schools seg­ment of the Dia­log 4G- the Sun­day Times Most Pop­u­lar School­boy / School­girl Crick­eter of the Year 2018 com­pe­ti­tion. Del­lon is surely mak­ing his in­ten­tions clear with the rapid progress, by ad­ding up 1639 votes, which took his tally to 2254 by the end of the sixth week. He leads Sachin Silva of St. Peter's Col­lege by 1183 votes, a healthy mar­gin at this stage of the 26-week long com­pe­ti­tion.

Sachin too has made good progress, but not pro­duc­tive as Del­lon, as he con­tin­ues to re­main at sec­ond spot. He has added 782 votes dur­ing the week as the to­tal moves up to 1071, slightly above Kavin Peiris of Lumbini Col­lege by 83 votes. Kavin re­ceived the sec­ond best count for the week, by re­ceiv­ing a count of 804 votes.

Du­laj Ban­dara of Dhar­maraja Col­lege re­mains at fourth place with an ad­di­tion of 219 votes and a tally of 363 while Ravindu Fer­nando of Maris Stella Col­lege pushed down Kalana Per­era of S. Thomas' Col­lege by a place to claim the fifth po­si­tion within the first week of the in­tro­duc­tion of dig­i­tal vot­ing via www.dia­

Sonara Karunathunga of Ananda Sasthralaya Kotte, con­tin­ues to en­joy the top po­si­tion of the Emerg­ing Schools, which he claimed last week. With the ad­di­tion of 298 votes, Sonara takes his tally up to 453, a lead of 286 votes from Pulitha Yasas of Sri Su­man­gala Col­lege, Panadura. Pulitha con­tin­ues at sec­ond place with 167 votes, after ad­ding up 51 last week. Sonara's team mate Thimira Mal­shan has not re­ceived any votes, but he re­mains at the third slot.

The newly in­tro­duced Girls' School cat­e­gory, has in­ter­est­ingly, made good progress. Kavee­sha Dil­hari of De­vap­athi­raja Col­lege, Ratgama con­tin­ues to dom­i­nate the seg­ment with 43 votes but she has got two ri­vals -- Harshitha Sa­ma­rawick­rama of Anula Vidyalaya and Ruwini Nan­dasena of St. Joseph's Girls' School -- as the bat­tle looks to be an in­ter­est­ing one.

Play­ers who have rep­re­sented their re­spec­tive schools in First XI cricket and with a tally of 400 or above runs or 25 wick­ets or above in the last sea­son will be el­i­gi­ble for the Dia­log 4G- the Sun­day Times Most Pop­u­lar School­boy Crick­eter of the Year 2018 com­pe­ti­tion. Schools have been cat­e­gorised un­der three cat­e­gories -- the Al­lIs­land, Emerg­ing and Girls schools, ac­cord­ing to the seg­men­ta­tion process of Sri Lanka School Cricket As­so­ci­a­tion.

All schools com­pet­ing in the on­go­ing In­ter- School Divi­sion I tour­na­ment will be cat­e­gorised un­der the All-Is­land Schools while the re­main­ing schools, com­pet­ing un­der Divi­sion II and III cat­e­gories, will come un­der Emerg­ing Schools. The 32 girls schools will come un­der the Girls cat­e­gory. Del­lon Sachin Silva Kavin Peiris Du­laj Ban­dara Ravindu Fer­nando Kalana Per­era Ya­sitha Sa­ma­rarathne Ma­hen­dra Ab­solom Kalana Wi­je­siri Sachin Ravindu Nim­naka Jay­athi­lake

Emerg­ing Schools

Sonara Karunathunga Pulitha Yasas Thimira Mal­shan Pathum Hasaranga

Girls' School

Coupons will be pub­lished from Oc­to­ber 1 in the Sun­day Times and it will fol­low through­out the week in the two English dailies, the Daily Mir­ror and Dai­lyFT, and the two Sin­hala dailies, Daily Lankadeepa and Ada and Sin­hala Week­end, De­shaya. Coupons will run for 26 weeks with the dead­line set for April 5, 2018. Read­ers could vote for their favourite school­boy or school­girl crick­eter and take them to the win­ning post dur­ing this pe­riod.

In ad­di­tion Dia­log Ax­i­ata's on­line vot­ing sys­tem through their of­fi­cial On­line Por­tal to vote for the Most Pop­u­lar Crick­eter (www.dia­ cricket), came alive from Oc­to­ber 1 with player reg­is­tra­tions. The dig­i­tal vot­ing mech­a­nism will have its usual pro­ce­dure as last sea­son where all play­ers must reg­is­ter on­line. Play­ers who wish to en­ter the fray will have to con­firm their par­tic­i­pa­tion by reg­is­ter­ing on­line with -- www.dia­­is­ter -- from Oc­to­ber 1 to Novem­ber 30. Even school­boy crick­eters whose names are en­tered into the com­pe­ti­tion by read­ers must reg­is­ter be­fore that dead­line. To val­i­date their regis­tra­tion play­ers should also be reg­is­tered un­der the Sri Lanka Schools Cricket As­so­ci­a­tion (SLSCA) with a valid regis­tra­tion num­ber. Play­ers with­out a valid regis­tra­tion from SLSCA will not be in­cluded in any cat­e­gory of the Most Pop­u­lar com­pe­ti­tion. The de­ci­sion of the Sports Editor of the Sun­day Times will be fi­nal.

Names of play­ers who reg­is­tered on­line dur­ing the month of Oc­to­ber were of­fi­cially scru­ti­nised of their el­i­gi­bil­ity and en­tered to the on­line vot­ing mech­a­nism from Novem­ber 1, while the cus­tom­ary vot­ing through coupons will be still on. From Novem­ber 1, the On­line Por­tal will be open for vot­ing while on­line regis­tra­tion will be still ac­cepted up to Novem­ber 30. Dur­ing the month of Novem­ber, the names of reg­is­tered play­ers will be re­leased weekly, ev­ery Wed­nes­day while the cut­off date for weekly scru­ti­n­is­ing will be the pre­vi­ous Fri­day of each week. On­line vot­ing will be open from Novem­ber 1 to April 5, 2018.

Both coupon votes and on­line votes will be counted on a weekly ba­sis and the of­fi­cial re­sults pub­lished ev­ery week be­gin­ning next Sun­day in the five news­pa­pers and its web­sites.

The dead­line for COUPONS will be ev­ery Thurs­day Noon while the weekly cut­off for ON­LINE VOTES will be ev­ery Wed­nes­day Noon. On­line Votes re­ceived after the weekly cut­off time will be counted for the next week, while for Coupons, ONLY those num­bered for the par­tic­u­lar week will be taken into count. This week's dig­i­tal vot­ing count was mon­i­tored and a p p r o ve d by au­di­tors Price­wa­ter­house Cooper.


School Peiris S. Thomas' Col­lege St. Peter's Col­lege Lumbini Col­lege Dhar­maraja Col­lege Maris Stella Col­lege S. Thomas' Col­lege Dhar­maraja Col­lege St. Joseph's Col­lege Ananda Col­lege St. Joseph's Col­lege St. An­thony's Col­lege Ananda Sasthralaya Sri Su­man­gala Panadura Ananda Sasthralaya Vidyaloka Galle Kavee­sha Dil­hari De­vap­athi­raja, Rathgama Harshitha Sa­ma­rawick­rama Anula Vidyalaya Ruwini Nan­dasena St. Joseph's Girls School

1. Ishandi Gu­nawar­dene, Ken­navita, Palathu­rupi­tiya, Hin­del­lana, Rat­na­pura, 2. K.C. Man­chanayaka, 233, Mack­watte, As­giriya, Gam­paha, 3. Sa­han De­shapriya, B/G/1, Vithanage Mawatha, Colombo 2, 4. Dhanan­jaya Pre­mathi­laka, 23/B, Tham­mita, Make­vita. 43 13 1

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Sri Lanka

© PressReader. All rights reserved.