A Com­plete list of cen­tres in­side

Observer on Saturday - - Front Page - Sto­ries by Sicelo Maziya

The Elec­tions and Bound­aries Com­mis­sions has fi­nally an­nounced the start of the voter reg­is­tra­tion process for this year’s par­lia­men­tary elec­tions. EBC Chair­per­son Chief Gija Dlamini an­nounced yes­ter­day at their of­fices that na­tional reg­is­tra­tion starts to­mor­row to June 17, reg­is­tra­tion starts at 7:00 am to 5:00 pm.

He en­cour­aged the na­tion to take ad­van­tage and reg­is­ter early to avoid late reg­is­tra­tion. Chief Gija said where it was safe and a num­ber of peo­ple were still reg­is­ter­ing they would ex­tend the reg­is­tra­tion time but not be­yond 9:00 pm. He said; “it has pleased Their Majesties to an­nounce the reg­is­tra­tion dates of the 2018 Par­lia­ment and na­tional gov­ern­ment elec­tion. This marks the start of the en­tire na­tional elec­tions process”. The chair­per­son dis­closed that the an­nounce­ment fol­lowed a se­ries of pre-elec­tion ac­tiv­i­ties that had been suc­cess­fully un­der­taken in the last four years. The chair­per­son said these in­cluded the civic voter ed­u­ca­tion ex­er­cise, the re­view of Tinkhundla bound­aries, re­view of elec­tions laws, pro­ce­dures and nu­mer­ous con­sul­ta­tions with non­govern­men­tal or­gan­i­sa­tions, re­li­gious groups, tra­di­tional in­sti­tu­tions, the youth and the pri­vate sec­tor. Chief Gija said the re­ports of the var­i­ous as­sign­ments in­formed a num­ber of changes in the con­duct of the 2018 na­tional elec­tions. He said the re­port also in­cluded an in­crease in the num­ber of Tinkhundla from the orig­i­nal 55 to the presently 59, re-align­ment of polling di­vi­sions, es­tab­lish­ment of reg­is­tra­tion cen­tres, and a re­view of the open­ing and clos­ing time for reg­is­tra­tion.

IT’S TIME: EBC Chair­man Chief Gija speak­ing dur­ing the press con­fer­ence.

LOOK: Eric Kunene show­ing the me­dia how the new sys­tem works while Bon­isile Makhubu looks on.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Swaziland

© PressReader. All rights reserved.