Golf Digest Middle East - - The Golf Life Eats -

2008 Tiger Woods over Rocco Me­di­ate on the 19th hole af­ter both shot 71 in the play­off. New for­mat: Woods wins in two holes. 2001* Retief Goosen over Mark Brooks, 70

72. New for­mat: Brooks wins in three holes. 1994* Ernie Els ( above) over Loren Roberts in 20 holes af­ter both shot 74 (Colin Mont­gomerie elim­i­nated af­ter 78).

New for­mat: Roberts wins in two holes. 1991 Payne Stewart over Scott Simpson, 75

77. New for­mat: Stewart wins in two holes. 1990 Hale Ir­win over Mike Don­ald in 19 holes af­ter both shot 74.

New for­mat: Ir­win wins in four holes. 1988 Curtis Strange over Nick Faldo, 71-75.

New for­mat: Strange wins in three holes. 1984 Fuzzy Zoeller over Greg Nor­man, 67-75.

New for­mat: Zoeller wins in two holes. 1975 Lou Gra­ham over John Ma­haf­fey, 71

73. New for­mat: Gra­ham wins in two holes. 1971 Lee Trevino over Jack Nick­laus, 68-71.

New for­mat: Trevino wins in three holes. 1966* Billy Casper over Arnold Palmer,

69-73. New for­mat: Palmer wins in four holes. 1965 Gary Player over Kel Na­gle, 71-74. New for­mat: Player wins in two holes. 1963* Julius Boros (70) over Jacky Cupit (73) and Arnold Palmer (76). New for­mat: Cupit wins in two holes.

1962 Jack Nick­laus over Arnold Palmer, 71-74. New for­mat: Nick­laus wins in two holes.

1957 Dick Mayer over Cary Mid­dle­coff, 72-79. New for­mat: Mayer wins in five holes. 1955 Jack Fleck over Ben Ho­gan, 69-72.

New for­mat: Fleck wins in five holes. 1950* Ben Ho­gan (69) over Lloyd Man­grum (73) and Ge­orge Fazio (75).

New for­mat: Man­grum wins in two holes. 1947* Lew Wor­sham over Sam Snead, 69-70.

New for­mat: Snead wins in two holes. 1946* Lloyd Man­grum (72-72) over Vic Ghezzi (72-73) and By­ron Nel­son (72-73) in a 36-hole play­off.

New for­mat: Ghezzi wins in two holes. 1940 Law­son Lit­tle over Gene Sarazen, 70-73. New for­mat: Lit­tle wins in two holes.

1939* By­ron Nel­son (68-70) over Craig Wood (68-73) and Denny Shute (elim­i­nated af­ter a 76 in the first 18-hole play­off).

New for­mat: Wood wins in five holes. 1931* Billy Burke (77-71) over Ge­orge Von Elm (76-73) in a sec­ond 36-hole play­off af­ter the two had tied in the first 36-hole play­off (Burke 73-76 to Von Elm’s 75-74).

New for­mat: Von Elm wins in two holes. 1929* Bobby Jones (72-69) over Al Espinosa (84-80) in a sched­uled 36-hole play­off.

New for­mat: Espinosa wins in two holes. 1928* Johnny Far­rell (70-73) over Bobby Jones (73-71) in a sched­uled 36-hole play­off.

New for­mat: Jones wins in two holes. 1927 Tommy Ar­mour over Harry Cooper, 76

79. New for­mat: Ar­mour wins in two holes. 1925* Wil­lie Macfarlane over Bobby Jones in a sec­ond 18-hole play­off, 72-73, af­ter they shot 75 in the first 18-hole play­off.

New for­mat: Jones wins in two holes. 1923* Bobby Jones over Bobby Cruick­shank,

76-78. New for­mat: Cruick­shank wins in three holes.

1919 Wal­ter Ha­gen over Mike Brady, 77-78. New for­mat: Ha­gen wins in two holes.

1913* Fran­cis Ouimet (72) over Harry Var­don (77) and Ted Ray (78). New for­mat: Var­don beats Ouimet on the sixth hole.

1911 John McDermott (80) over Mike Brady (82) and Ge­orge Simpson (86).

New for­mat: McDermott beats Brady on the fifth hole.

1910 Alex Smith (71) over John McDermott (75) and Macdon­ald Smith (77).

New for­mat: Alex Smith beats Macdon­ald Smith on the third hole. 1908 Fred McLeod over Wil­lie Smith, 77-83.

New for­mat: McLeod wins in three holes. 1903 Wil­lie An­der­son over David Brown, 82-84. New for­mat: An­der­son wins in three holes. 1901* Wil­lie An­der­son over Alex Smith,

85-86. New for­mat: Smith wins in four holes.

A list of the re­sults of all 33 U.S. Open play­offs, and how the new two-hole ag­gre­gate-score for­mat could have af­fected the out­comes (as­ter­isks show years where the new for­mat would have pro­duced a dif­fer­ent win­ner):

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UAE

© PressReader. All rights reserved.