Com­mu­nity and prizes handed out at Tar­bert

Argyllshire Advertiser - - NEWS -

The word ‘com­mu­nity’ cropped up a num­ber of times in speeches at Tar­bert Acad­emy’s an­nual prize­giv­ing cer­e­mony.

Head teacher Neil McKnight con­grat­u­lated pupils on their achieve­ments dur­ing the aca­demic year, say­ing that he was ‘de­lighted and proud to be head teacher at such a fan­tas­tic school’.

He paid trib­ute to the strength of com­mu­nity in Tar­bert, of which the school is an in­te­gral part, and which has been so ap­par­ent over the school year.

On the hottest day of the year to that point, Tar­bert Acad­emy games hall was packed with fam­ily and friends, who en­joyed a num­ber of en­ter­tain­ing pre­sen­ta­tions on the var­i­ous term-time school ac­tiv­i­ties.

The awards at the cer­e­mony, held as the school term ended on June 28, were pre­sented by spe­cial guest Bar­bara Bell.

List of prizes: School prize for ad­min­is­tra­tion: Finn Scott; School prize for art and de­sign: Caitie Wilkieson; JB Dickie prize for chem­istry: Cara Gor­man; Daphne Pater­son prize for English (pri­mary): So­phie Den­nis; Daphne Pater­son prize for English: Shanon Mac­Don­ald and Neil Mac­Far­lane; Ro­tary Club prize for Na­tional 5 English: Ara­bella Wil­liams; James Q Smith prize for English (Sec 1): Ver­ity Meg­gin­son; Miss Margery Irv­ing prize for French: Isaac Stanesby; School prize for ge­og­ra­phy: Jodie Hen­der­son; Colin C Blair prize for his­tory: Shanon Mac­Don­ald; JB Dickie prize for math­e­mat­ics: Shanon Mac­Don­ald; MacKay prize for Na­tional 5 math­e­mat­ics: Finn Bea­gan; Ro­tary prize for s2 math­e­mat­ics: Danielle Blair; JB Dickie prize for physics: Emma Clark; JB Dickie prize for phys­i­cal ed­u­ca­tion: Finn Scott; School prize for health and food tech­nol­ogy: Cerys Baird; School prize for prac­ti­cal wood­work­ing: Bryce Har­vey; School prize for graphic com­mu­ni­ca­tion: Caitie Wilkieson; Ro­tary Club prize for pri­mary maths: John McTag­gart; Tar­bert Gaelic Choir War Me­mo­rial award: Chloe Twyn­ham; School prize for bi­ol­ogy: Cara Gor­man; Head Teacher’s award for ser­vice to the school: Shauna Brown; School prize for drama: Caitie Wilkieson; Marr Wilkie award: Jack Bas­tow; Mary Sed­dall Bruce-Lock­hart award for ser­vice to oth­ers: Chloe Twyn­ham; House shield: Gar­val; Pri­mary Dux: So­phie Den­nis/John Mctag­gart; Se­nior Dux: Shanon Mac­Don­ald; School Cap­tain: Chloe Twyn­ham; Vice­cap­tain: Jodie Hen­der­son.


Se­nior Dux Shanon Mac­Don­ald.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.