Tar­ling tri­umphs in four-car bat­tle for Historics win


RICHARD TAR­LING WON A THRILLING His­toric fi­nal in his Ja­mun T2, edg­ing out Michael Mal­lock in his Mal­lock U2 and Ben Mitchell in Mar­cus Pye’s smart Mer­lyn Mk20.

It was a supremely close, en­thralling race that any of the top four could have won de­servedly; less than one sec­ond sep­a­rated them. Tar­ling dis­placed pole­sit­ter Mitchell at the first cor­ner, be­fore Mitchell fought back at Brook­lands. So be­gan a race-long bat­tle be­tween a lead­ing group of Mitchell, Tar­ling, Mal­lock and Cal­lum Grant in his dis­tinc­tive or­ange Mer­lyn.

All took turns at the front of their four-man pack – the lead changed at least once a lap for much of the race. Tar­ling, who had qual­i­fied third for his heat against mod­ern ma­chin­ery, pre­vailed right at the end, hav­ing timed his fi­nal passes per­fectly. “Be­ing in the lead on the last lap” was his sim­ple ex­pla­na­tion of his tac­tics.

Grant lost touch slightly with the lead­ers af­ter a small ex­cur­sion onto the Brook­lands grass. He was un­com­fort­able with a move made by Crossle driver

Mike Gard­ner, who was fifth, but no ac­tion was taken.

The ‘Non His­toric’ con­so­la­tion race for Pre-’93 cars was al­most as thrilling, with a three-way tus­sle be­tween North­ern Pre-’90 cham­pion Jaap Bli­jleven, David Cob­bold and Ben Tin­kler.

UCLAN Rey­nard driver Bli­jleven charged up the or­der from sixth on the grid to join Cob­bold’s and Tin­kler’s lead dice, then hit the front when Cob­bold’s at­tempt to re­gain first place from Tin­kler cost both mo­men­tum. Tin­kler chased Bli­jleven to the flag but fell 0.273s short.

Richard Neary was vic­to­ri­ous in the Sprint el­e­ment of the Brit­car race that ran into the night, ahead of the FF Corse Fer­rari of Calum Lockie and David Ma­son. Neary over­took Lockie at Brook­lands on the open­ing lap for sec­ond over­all, which al­lowed him to build up a gap in his Mercedes GT3 be­fore be­ing the first of the Sprint race run­ners to pit.

When Lockie pit­ted rel­a­tively late to hand over to Ma­son, the Fer­rari emerged among the Ginetta G55s of Tom Knight and Tom Bar­ley, who were bat­tling in the En­durance el­e­ment of the race. Ma­son’s pace was com­pro­mised as he had to find a way past the two Ginet­tas, and Neary was able to over­come a pit­stop hand­i­cap for vic­tory.

Ross Wylie and Witt Gam­ski won the En­durance sec­tion in their Fer­rari 458 GTE car, af­ter Ste­fano Leaney and Rob Whel­don had to make two pit­stops due to their Rad­i­cal GT3 be­ing short on fuel, while Bar­ley and Adam Hat­field were third.

Myles Castal­dini was de­nied a great come­back vic­tory in the Allcomers Pre-’70 race, al­low­ing Bruce Cham­bers a lights-toflag win with his Elva. Castal­dini put his Davrian Mk8 on pole, but started from the back af­ter a clutch change, and re­tired within sight of Cham­bers due to over­heat­ing. Club­mans Mal­lock racer

Ian Bankhurst took ad­van­tage of a spin by pole­sit­ter Robert Bee­bee’s Chevron B8 to win in Allcomers Post-’69. Bee­bee was then ex­cluded from third for caus­ing

Tony Bianchi’s re­tire­ment.

An early spell in the lead by Richard Neary in the GT3 Mercedes could not stop Martin Short from dom­i­nat­ing Sil­ver­stone Allcomers with his Dal­lara-judd SP1 ma­chine, and Sarah Moore was sim­i­larly un­stop­pable in the Ladies race at the wheel of her Ginetta G50.

Tar­ling (#53) came out on top in Historics bat­tle

Driv­ers pushed track lim­its to the ex­treme

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.