Clift takes top honours in rainy Scot­land


Buckinghamshire Advertiser - - SPORT -

(Above) Hare­wood Downs GC Se­niors Open win­ners Glyn Wil­liams and Tony Avery, with Hare­wood’s vice-cap­tain Paul Vaughan in the cen­tre; (right) Bob Clift (left) with cap­tain Phil Blake BOB Clift emerged as the win­ner of the 49th an­nual Johnny John­son Tro­phy af­ter beat­ing off the chal­lenge of 31 other Hare­wood Downs golfers.

The tour­na­ment took place at both Cas­tle Stu­art, in In­ver­ness, and at Nairn, and the Scot­tish weather proved to be typ­i­cally skit­tish, with per­sis­tent rain and strong winds mak­ing Clift’s win­ning score of nett 75 all the more re­mark­able.

In such dire con­di­tions, Tony Bra­zier and David Kap­per also did well to shoot a nett 78 and 80 for sec­ond and third re­spec­tively.

Bra­zier also fin­ished sec­ond in the Cap­tain’s Prize, with David Aitken tak­ing first place and pro player Ge­off Mor­ris set­tling for third, although all three fin­ished with 32 points.

Bra­zier did fin­ish first, how­ever, along with part­ner Rob Crocker, in the John Lyon Tro­phy, de­spite ty­ing on 40 points with sec­ond-place pair Ge­off Nay­lor and Colin McBride, while Peter White and Simon Thorn­ton (44) beat Ed McEwen and Ian Terry (43) by a sin­gle point to win The Choices.

Back at home and all dried out, Hare­wood Downs hosted its sec­ond Se­niors’ Open, with a field of 80 contestants from 26 dif­fer­ent clubs.

Glyn Wil­liams and Tony Avery, from Burn­ham Beeches, won with a score of 40 points, with Elles­bor­ough’s Richard Devas and Roger Law­son sec­ond on 38, and Porters Park’s Ran­jit and Jas Arora third on 37.

There were two prizes for the host club, with Mike Old­ham hit­ting the long­est drive on the ninth hole and Tim Baldwin hit­ting near­est to the pin in two on the 14th, while near­est to the pin in one was Ment­more’s Wil­liam McGre­gor on the 17th.

Else­where, the Ladies Week­end Medal was won by Julie But­ter­worth (nett 76) ahead of He­len Au­daer (nett 79) and Kathy Fraser (nett 82), while Julie Blake and Lina McKenna (37pts) were vic­to­ri­ous in the Ladies Mis­bourne Put­ter, with Therese Havard and Sue Nay­lor (33pts) sec­ond and Kathy Fraser and Lor­rainne Marsh third (32pts).


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.