Buckinghamshire Advertiser - - SPORT -


THE fin­ish could not have been closer at Oak­land Park Golf Club’s Mem­ber’s Open, with the first three all tied on a nett score of 65.

Fol­low­ing a count back,b kRb Rob Gold­smith (pictured with club cap­tain Richard Nightin­gale) was handed the hon­ours, fol­lowed by Alan Flint in sec­ond and Steven Faria in third.

It also took a count back to de­cide who was the top woman, with Chris­tine Haigh and Es­ther Mor­ley ty­ing on nett 69, but Haigh tak­ing the hon­ours.

Flint added to his sec­ond place fin­ish with the men’s long­est drive award on the fourth hole, while Lynn Robin­son hit the fur­thest for the woman on the 16th.

Near­est the pin was Kieran Davey for the men on the 14th and Shirley Ke­hoe for the women on the sixth.


Week­end Ladies’ April Medal: 1. Fran Wil­son nett 74; 2. Zoe McIn­tyre nett 77; Jackie Tay­lor nett 77. Mid­week Ladies’ April Medal: 1. Fran Wil­son nett 72; 2. Abi Mor­gan nett 74; 3. Pa­tri­cia Ful­lick nett 76. Nine Hole Qual­i­fier: 1. Jill Mor­gan 19 sta­ble­ford pts.


THE Lit­tle Hay GC ladies team topped a tough league to progress to the last eight of the Pear­sons Tro­phy, set­ting up a quar­ter fi­nal clash against Harpen­den.

The ladies also played a friendly match at home to Rick­mansworth, which ended in an honourable 2-2 draw, while on Sun­day, Lit­tle Hay B won 4-1 at Ruis­lip. Ladies’ Spring Bou­quet: 1. Les­lie O’Brien 41 pts; 2. Jacky Joslyn 37 pts; 3. Suzanne Brady 35 pts. Se­niors’ April Sta­ble­ford: Div One – 1.Tim Far­row 37 pts; 2. Chris Jar­man 35 pts ocb; 3. Bill How­ells 35 pts. Div Two – 1. Pa­trick McIn­er­ney 36 pts; 2. John Mur­phy 35 pts; 3. Mike Ma­son 33 pts.


NEW Che­sham & Ley Hill GC vicecap­tain Bob Bru­ton cel­e­brated his new sta­tus by hit­ting a hole in one on the pic­turesque 12th hole at a re­cent tour­na­ment.

He is pictured be­ing con­grat­u­lated by new cap­tain Trevor Bing­ham, who is rais­ing money this year for the ju­nior sec­tions at both Ley Hill Cricket Club and Che­sham Stags Rugby Club.


Ann Burgess Tro­phy: Div One – 1. Irene Brien nett 72; 2. Di Bovey nett 78; 3. Leni du Plessis nett 79. Div Two – 1. Jan Brad­ford nett 73; 2. Lorna Robert­son nett 76; 3. Mau­reen Smith nett 78.


THE ladies of Gerrards Cross GC trav­elled to Hat­field for this year’s Swap Day, play­ing a game at Brook­man’s Park GC while the Brook­man’s ladies made the op­po­site jour­ney.

Ju­dith Ker, Gail Sharpe, Jen­nifer Locke and Ju­dith Arnold won the day for Gerrards Cross on count back from Caro­line Ringsell, Pa­tri­cia Whit­taker, Pinks Sharma and Chris­tine Con­sta­ble af­ter the two teams tied on 85 points, while An­gela Newey, Glenise Mar­fell, Janette Psyl­lides and Jenny Cochrane were third on 81. Ladies Kingscote Qual­i­fier: Div One – 1. De­nis Whyte nett 70; 2. Sue Carroll nett 75 ocb; 3. Kwai Voon nett 75. Div Two – 1. Erika Stielow nett 75; 2. Carin Ei­larts de Haan nett 76; 3. Sylvia Boon nett 82.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.