Time­line of a leg­end How the F1 pi­o­neer made his­tory

The Daily Telegraph - Business - - Sport Formula One -

1977 Frank Wil­liams founds a team in his name. 1980 Alan Jones wins world ti­tle as team sweep all be­fore them. Wil­liams also win first of their nine con­struc­tors’ cham­pi­onships. 1986 Wil­liams is ren­dered tetraplegi­c af­ter a road ac­ci­dent. 1987 Nel­son Pi­quet pips team-mate Nigel Mansell to ti­tle.

1992 Mansell storms to the ti­tle with nine wins, the most by a driver in a sin­gle sea­son. He leaves rather than be­ing team-mates with Alain Prost. Prost wins the ti­tle in 1993.

1994 Ayr­ton Senna, who had joined Wil­liams that sea­son, is killed at Imola. Wil­liams is charged with man­slaugh­ter but ac­quit­ted. Ev­ery Wil­liams car since car­ries a logo as trib­ute.

1996 Af­ter twice miss­ing out to Michael Schu­macher, Da­mon Hill wins the world ti­tle.

1997 Jac­ques Vil­leneuve pips

Michael Schu­macher to the ti­tle as team win ninth con­struc­tors’ crown. 2003 Juan Pablo Mon­toya comes close to win­ning Wil­liams’ first ti­tle in six years but fin­ishes third. 2006 Wil­liams win just 11 points, worst since 1978. 2012 Wil­liams steps down from board and is re­placed by his daugh­ter, Claire. He re­mains team prin­ci­pal.

2019 Wil­liams fin­ish 10th for sec­ond sea­son. 2020 Team are sold to US in­vest­ment firm Do­ril­ton Cap­i­tal. Sir Frank and Claire Wil­liams to leave af­ter this week’s Ital­ian GP.

Con­struc­tors’ Ti­tles

1980, 1981, 1986, 1987, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1997.

Driv­ers’ Ti­tles 1980 (Alan Jones), 1982 (Keke Ros­berg), 1987 (Nel­son Pi­quet), 1992 (Nigel Mansell), 1993 (Alain Prost), 1996 (Da­mon Hill), 1997 (Jac­ques Vil­leneuve).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.