Buried on his birthday

We made some pre­cious mem­o­ries dur­ing Nigel’s fight

Chat - - Come On In! - By Anita Bals­don, 48, from Brad­wor­thy, Devon

Reach­ing for an over­head smash, a man at the end of the sports hall caught my eye. Burly with a belly laugh, you could hardly miss him.

‘I’m Nigel,’ he grinned as I in­tro­duced my­self.

I saw him most weeks from then on.

Nigel had a bril­liant sense of hu­mour and liked to pull my leg. I al­ways fell for his jokes.

My bad­minton shots im­proved, too, un­der the ex­pert tu­ition of ‘Big Nige’ as his friends called him. We never stopped laugh­ing, and soon re­alised some­thing. We were soul mates. Nigel and I each had two kids of our own. But we moved in to­gether and cre­ated one big, happy fam­ily. We mar­ried four years later. Nigel’s son Chaz, then 22, and daugh­ter Claire, 20, were there, along with my two, Chantelle, 14, and Jamie, 11. The years flew by. Nigel worked hard at his plumb­ing busi­ness and I worked as a pay­roll clerk. We loved our hol­i­days, and Nigel was hap­pi­est on the football pitch where he was a goal­keeper, be­fore mov­ing on to ref­er­ee­ing, then help­ing man­age the vil­lage team. Then, in Oc­to­ber 2013, he had to go to hospi­tal for a hip re­place­ment. Af­ter­wards, Nigel was plagued by headaches. ‘It’s prob­a­bly the af­ter­ef­fects of the anaes­thetic,’ I re­as­sured him. Then a friend no­ticed a droop on the left of his lip.

His GP booked an MRI at Barn­sta­ple Hospi­tal.

Twen­ty­four hours later, on 4 Fe­bru­ary 2014, we were back for the re­sults.

‘We’ve found three brain tu­mours. You’ve got a year at most to live,’ the doc­tor said.

We both went white. Nigel was only 53.

We broke the news to the chil­dren.

‘I won’t give up,’ Nigel told them. ‘I’ll try ev­ery treat­ment.’

He had more tests at Der­ri­ford Hospi­tal, Ply­mouth.