Fly­ing Scots­man Rally

Me­chan­ics to the res­cue as rear sus­pen­sion is­sues threaten lead­ers on rally’s clos­ing stages

Classic Car Weekly (UK) - - Front Page - ❚ www.en­duro­

’A bril­liant event, in­cred­i­bly well or­gan­ised and an amaz­ing re­sult’

There was a close fin­ish to the ninth Fly­ing Scots­man Rally with the win­ning crew of Paul Crosby and Ali Proc­tor re­cov­er­ing from two break­downs with their 1939 MG TB Su­per­charged on their way to take the che­quered flag at Gle­nea­gles.

The MG suf­fered bro­ken rear sus­pen­sion is­sues but got back in the race with the help of the En­durance Rally As­so­ci­a­tion’s me­chan­ics. This en­abled them to keep their lead from day two of the vin­tage re­li­a­bil­ity trial over John Abel and Leigh Pow­ley with their 1937 Lagonda LG4, with just 24 sec­onds sep­a­rat­ing them.

Abel and Pow­ley have fin­ished sec­ond for the past two years. Bill Cleyn­dert and Dan Har­ri­son were third in a 1928 Ford Model A.

‘I’m ab­so­lutely over­whelmed be­cause we never thought we had any chance of com­ing here and win­ning,’ says Paul Crosby. ‘ We’ve done two Fly­ing Scots­man events and Ali didn’t make a mis­take all week­end.’

More than 100 cars par­tic­i­pated in the rally, or­gan­ised by the En­durance Rally As­so­ci­a­tion, that left Sla­ley Hall, Northum­ber­land, on 31 March. The route took par­tic­i­pants through Kielder For­est be­fore head­ing across the bor­der for the first overnight stay near Ed­in­burgh. The next day the crews headed to the Cairn­gorm Moun­tains for the sec­ond overnight stay at Aviemore.

Two spe­cial awards were pre­sented dur­ing the din­ner at Gle­nea­gles Ho­tel on April 2. The Con­cours D’el­e­gance was awarded to Clint and Brad Smith in a 1938 Jaguar SS100, while The Spirit of the Rally award went to Mitch and Wendy Gross with the 1938 BMW 328.


Theo Hunt and James Gal­liver get­ting to grips with a 1933 Frazer Nash TT replica. Con­cours d’El­e­gance win­ners Clint and Brad Smith in a 1938 Jaguar SS100. ABOVE A well-trav­elled 1907 Itala 40, crewed by David Ayre and An­thony Thomp­son, won the Pi­o­neer class. BE­LOW Paul Crosby and Ali Proc­tor cel­e­brate their win at Gle­nea­gles in their 1939 MG TB Su­per­charged.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.