Godric CC was born behind the steamed windows of Bungay’s Market Tea Rooms in February 1953. The meeting of local cyclists had been called by George and Daphne King, enthusiastic riders who had moved to the Suffolk town from Caterham in Surrey.
Though 30 locals were present at that inaugural meeting, the membership of the club stood at 18 when they first met for the club run at the Old Butter Cross, the same place they meet to this day.
Named after the owner of the land the town’s castle was built on, Godric believe they are the only British cycling club whose name connects them to Saxon England.
The desire for competition flowed through the veins of the mainly young membership, and the club’s first race was a 10-mile time trial staged on the Bungay straight, towards the nearby town of Halesworth. The only competitor with previous racing experience, Peter Roe, won, but it was Barry Minns who began his illustrious career soon after. Still a member and now approaching his 80th birthday, Minns won the 25 and 50 which soon followed, and helped build the club’s rich time trialling base which survives to this day.
The club has expanded rapidly in recent years, increasing from fewer than 50 just five years ago, to 140 now, and while time trialling remains important, members take part in all types of road cycling. Perhaps reflecting Daphne King as one of the founding members, there are nearly 30 women among the members.