Right­ing a wrong

Golf Monthly - - Your View -

I was dis­mayed to read that Eoin Mur­phy was dis­qual­i­fied for not en­ter­ing his score into the com­puter (Septem­ber is­sue). While a club may have some sort of club penalty for fail­ure to en­ter the score into the com­puter, e.g. a ban from the fol­low­ing com­pe­ti­tion, they are not per­mit­ted to dis­qual­ify a player. Re­fer to De­ci­sion 6-6b/8 in the De­ci­sions on the Rules of Golf. Joe Halpin, via email doesn’t then the next one is deemed to have done so. Sim­ple as that.

This will do away with mark­ing and clean­ing the ball a sec­ond time, strad­dling a fel­low golfer’s line or mov­ing the marker and then mov­ing it back. Why not try it when tem­po­rary greens are in op­er­a­tion or for a so­ci­ety’s sec­ond round on a day out? Cliff Han­cock, via email

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.