Tal­ented cadets hon­oured at end of year cer­e­mony

Macclesfield Express - - HEART OF THE COMMUNITY -

THE ded­i­ca­tion and hard work of the town’s sea cadets was cel­e­brated at an end of year awards event.

The Mac­cles­field and Bolling­ton Sea Cadets meets twice a week at St John’s School in Bolling­ton.

Cadets enjoy a range of ex­cit­ing ad­ven­ture ac­tiv­i­ties, from kayak­ing and sail­ing to nav­i­ga­tion skills and ed­u­ca­tion.

The event was held to mark the achieve­ments of all the mem­bers, with some re­ceiv­ing awards for their in­di­vid­ual achieve- ments, pre­sented by Bolling­ton Mayor Coun­cil­lor An­gela Wil­liams.

Among the win­ners were Leila Jacklin, Com­mand­ing Of­fi­cer’s spe­cial award; Court­nee Ship­man, Jack Collins award for prac­ti­cal train­ing; Char­lie Da­ley, most im­proved cadet; Har- ri­ett Ter­ring­ton, Rus­sell Cut­ler award for train­ing the­ory; Oliver Gaunt, Royal Oak award for best ju­nior; and Con­nor Laf­fan, Cap­tain Franklin award for smartest cadet.

Ryan Whittaker, Char­lie Da­ley, Con­nor Laf­fan and Luke Freude­nau – who make up the se­nior boys row­ing team – won the Anne Bell award for spe­cial achieve­ment.

Com­mand­ing of­fi­cer Karen Black said: “The staff and I are very proud of all the cadets. They are hard work­ing, en­thu­si­as­tic, and a really lovely group.”

●● The Ann Bell Award for Spe­cial Achieve­ment went to the se­nior boys row­ing team, col­lected by Con­nor Laf­fan and Char­lie Da­ley

●● CDT Con­nor Laf­fan won the Cap­tain Franklin award for be­ing the smartest cadet

●● Mayor An­gela Wil­liams pre­sented the Royal Oak award for best ju­nior cadet to Oliver Gaunt

●● OC Char­lie Da­ley re­ceived the Sylvia Roberts award for most im­proved cadet

●● OC Har­ri­ett Ter­ring­ton re­ceived the Rus­sell Cut­ler award for train­ing the­ory

●● AC Court­nee Ship­man won the Jack Collins award for prac­ti­cal train­ing

●● The Com­mand­ing Of­fi­cer’s Spe­cial award went to OC Leila Jacklin

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.