Dele­cour, Lappi head­line Monte sur­prises

Motor Sport News - - Rally News -

For­mer Monte Carlo Rally win­ner Fran­cois Dele­cour will switch to a Peu­geot 207 S2000 for his 21st at­tempt at the event later this month.

Dele­cour, 53, took his sole win on the Monte in 1994 – but ran as high as se­cond over­all in a 207 in 2011, when it ran as a round of the In­ter­con­ti­nen­tal Rally Chal­lenge.

The French­man was orig­i­nally en­tered in a Porsche 911 and his de­ci­sion to move to the Peu­geot means there will be no en­tries for the open­ing round of the FIA’S R-GT Cup.

Else­where on the en­try list, Es­apekka Lappi starts out­side the main WRC2 field in a self-funded Skoda Fabia R5 de­spite head­ing the man­u­fac­turer’s team last year. Also us­ing one of the Czech ma­chines is Greek star Lambros Athana­soulas, who won PWRC on his home world cham­pi­onship event in 2009.

As well as ex­pected en­tries for Kris Meeke and Elfyn Evans, Ea­monn Boland starts the event for the 12th time in his Subaru WRX. The Monte Carlo Rally runs from Jan­uary 21-24.

Lappi funds his own WRC2 en­try

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.