Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - Ian Mills

Hav­ing won the fi­nal round of the 2015 Scot­tish Navigational Cham­pi­onship, Dave Mack­in­tosh and Dun­can Cameron opened their 2016 ac­count with vic­tory on the first event of this year’s se­ries, the Aquarius Navigational Rally. The pair took an em­phatic win as they fin­ished the event al­most nine min­utes ahead of their near­est ri­vals.

The Aquarius proved to be a mat­ter of main­tain­ing the cor­rect route as most crews re­ported time con­sum­ing wrong slots. Mat­ters were made more dif­fi­cult by patches of thick fog along the route.

The run­ner-up spot was taken by the Peu­geot 206 of Des Camp­bell/ Chris­tine San­der­son.

They fin­ished two min­utes ahead of Drew Barker/ Stu­art Waite, who were com­pet­ing in an Audi A3.

The Club­man Rally was won by the Saab 96 V4 of David Heirs/ Mau­rice Mil­lar.

From south of the bor­der, Andy Whittaker/char­lie Ty­nan (Pro­ton Sa­tria) had been ex­pected to go well on the event but they non-started due to the driver be­ing un­well. Aquarius Navigational Rally Or­gan­iser: Glen­rothes Mo­tor­sport Club When: Jan­uary 23/24 Where: Fife/ Perthshire Cham­pi­onships: HRCR

Premier Route: 120 Miles Starters: 14.

Re­sults 1 Dave Mack­in­tosh/ Dun­can Cameron (Ford Fi­esta) 6m41s; 2 Des Camp­bell/ Chris­tine San­der­son (Peu­geot 206) +8m50s; 3 Drew Barker/ Stu­art Waite (Audi A3); 4 Harry Merry/ Gra­ham Couser (Ford Fi­esta); 5 Colin Christie/ David Law (Suzuki Ig­nis); 6 Michael Dav­i­son/josh Dav­i­son (Pro­ton Compact); 7 Dou­glas Humphrey/ Chris Loudon (Mini Cooper); 8 David Heirs/ Mau­rice Mil­lar (Saab 96 V4); 9 Jim Wil­liams/jean Bruce (Land Rover Dis­cov­ery); 10 Stu­art Cobb/ Ste­wart Dou­glas (Toy­ota Yaris).

Class win­ners Ex­perts: Camp­bell/ San­der­son; Club­man: Heirs/ Mil­lar.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.