Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports -

With Class A pace­set­ter and Vaux­hall Corsa driver Joe Cun­ning­ham elect­ing to use the Brands round as his dropped score, it was left for the Nova of Christo­pher and An­thony New­ton to take up the classlead­ing hon­ours. They led home the un­der­pow­ered Mi­cra of Matt and Suze En­dean by over three min­utes.

Class B should have been dom­i­nated by the well-liked duo of Paul Sheard and Steve Hall­mark, but the Miche­lin Cup win­ners from the pre­vi­ous round had a sen­sor fail, which cru­elly ruled them out af­ter two dif­fi­cult events at Croft and Rockingham. In­stead, Ben and Mike Daw­son took up the man­tle in their Ford Es­cort, ahead of the Honda Civic of Tony Michael and Paul Bar­rett.

Class C went to over­all win­ner Chris West, while Class D went to Field. As events and the cham­pi­onship can run dif­fer­ent class names, the event went with Class E (or rather D2 in the MN Cir­cuit Cham­pi­onship). That was headed by the Perez father-and­son team.


1 Chris West/ Steve Mcnulty (Peu­geot 306 Maxi) 40m12s; 2 Ash­ley Field/ Ryan Vick­ers (Dar­rian T90 GTR+) +35s; 3 James Shar­rock/ Stu­art Faulds (Ford Es­cort Mk2) +50s; 4 Steve Perez/ Seb Perez (Ford Fo­cus WRC)+1M06S; 5 Steve Quigley/tom Hutch­ings (Re­nault Clio 172 Cup) +1m34s; 6 Paul Di­a­mond/andy Holling­ham (Es­cort Mk2) +1m42s; 7 Stu­art Cog­ger/ade Sum­mers (Es­cort Mk2) +1m56s; 8 Stephen Til­burn/jack Ben­jamin Til­burn (Es­cort RS2500) +2m29s; 9 Ian Huck­le­bridge/ Gary John­son (Es­cort) +2m29s; 10 An­thony Robin­son/ Phil Clarke (Re­nault Clio) +2m38s; 11 John Legg/ Dave Par­sons (Es­cort RS); 12 Alex Cannon/ Ray Keith (Subaru Im­preza); 13 Lee Earthy/ Louise Earthy (Mit­subishi Lancer E7); 14 Steve Beck/ Paul Brown (Es­cort); 15 Stu­art Gilks/ Michael Boyns (Tal­bot Sun­beam); 16 Tim Mewett/alan Car­frae (Es­cort Mk 2); 17 Rus­sell Davies/andy Tom­lin­son (Vaux­hall Astra F2); 18 Roland Brown/terry Luck­ings (Es­cort Mk1); 19 Mark Cooper/ Mike Hughes (Lancer E6); 20 Christo­pher New­ton/an­thony New­ton (Vaux­hall Nova). Class win­ners Christo­pher New­ton/an­thony New­ton (Vaux­hall Nova); Ben Daw­son/ Mike Daw­son (Es­cort MK 2); West/ Mcnulty; Field/ Vick­ers; Perez/ Perez.

In Cun­ning­ham’s ab­sence the New­tons took Class A

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.