Motor Sport News - - Racing News - RE­SULTS

Mon­dello Park kick-started the 2016 rac­ing sea­son and Ciaran Tim­mons did the dou­ble in the Ir­ish Tour­ing Cars, tak­ing a lights-to-flag win in race one de­spite the early at­ten­tions of Dean Reilly.

When Reilly re­tired mid-race Grze­gorz Ka­li­necki’s new Golf GTI took se­cond, with Ed­die Kinirons third in his newly ac­quired BMW M3.

Jay O’reilly took Pro­duc­tion hon­ours from the re­cov­er­ing Ni­cole Drought, who had chal­lenged for the lead be­fore be­ing ro­tated by An­thony Murtagh at Mo­bil cor­ner.

In race two, Shane Rab­bitt launched his Mazda RX-7 off the line to some­how snatch the lead from the fourth row of the grid. Al­most im­me­di­ately the red flags flew as Murtagh and Gareth Jen­nings tan­gled at the fi­nal cor­ner.

Un­de­terred, Rab­bitt du­pli­cated his tech­nique and again led into turn one at the restart. He hung on de­spite pres­sure from Kevin Do­ran, un­til fuel star­va­tion slowed him at the Esses. Do­ran grabbed the lead but, in turn, came un­der pres­sure from the fly­ing Tim­mons, who fi­nally made it stick at South­side Cor­ner. When Do­ran slowed with over­heat­ing prob­lems, Ka­li­necki moved to se­cond and closed the gap slightly in the clos­ing stages, but noth­ing was go­ing to deny class re­turnee Tim­mons from mak­ing it two out of two.

Drought drove su­perbly to take the Pro­duc­tion win de­spite start­ing at the back with grids re­versed, David Cas­sidy be­ing her clos­est chal­lenger.

Phil Lawless won the first Fi­esta Zetec race from pole, with Dar­ragh Mcmullen hold­ing off Michael Tu­multy in a hec­tic race for se­cond – but Mcmullen was later dis­qual­i­fied for a tech­ni­cal in­fringe­ment.

In race two, Trevor Far­rar nailed the start to lead Lawless away and held on for a few laps be­fore Lawless re­claimed it with a crack­ing move round the out­side at Mo­bil.

As Lawless eased away for the dou­ble, Far­rar came un­der at­tack from Tu­multy and Mcmullen, with the trio cir­cu­lat­ing as one for the du­ra­tion. At the flag it was Lawless, with Far­rar just hold­ing on for se­cond and Mcmullen in third.

James Hol­man fought off Niki Mered­ith for the first Ir­ish Leg­ends race, the pair cross­ing the line well clear of Paul O’brien in third. In race two, O’brien took the hon­ours, with Mered­ith charg­ing up to se­cond and Jonny Tay­lor pip­ping the im­pres­sive Bobby King for third, with Hol­man stranded in the gravel at turn three af­ter an early spin. In race three, Mered­ith worked his way to the front but Hol­man climbed to se­cond and grad­u­ally closed him down. With a cou­ple of laps to run, Hol­man snatched the lead at South­side cor­ner, but Mered­ith fought back and the duo crossed the line side-by-side, Hol­man get­ting the nod by a frac­tion. Ian Con­roy was a dis­tant third.

Mo­tor­sport Ire­land Young Driver of the Year Jake Byrne jumped into one of the fam­ily ABR team Global GT Lights and dec­i­mated the reg­u­lars, cross­ing the line well clear in race one de­spite a late-race safety car in­ter­ven­tion. Peter Dren­nan was se­cond, with Mark Twomey com­plet­ing the podium. In race two, Byrne dropped to the back of the grid on the rolling lap and yet was well clear by the end, with Dren­nan se­cond and Mark Braden third.

Ti­mothy Dug­gan took a fine win in Fu­ture Clas­sics, fight­ing off the im­pres­sive Fi­esta grad­u­ate Marty Moore. Class rookie Adrian Dunne com­pleted the podium in his Citroen Saxo, but he was later docked four places for im­proper driv­ing. That handed the spot to For­mula Sheane reg­u­lar Richie Kear­ney (Punto 1400).

1 Ciaran Tim­mons (Honda In­te­gra) 15m27.883s (66.90mph); 2 Grze­gorz Ka­li­necki (VW Golf) +5.606s; 3 Ed­die Kinirons (BMW M3); 4 Jay O’reilly (Honda Civic); 5 Ni­cole Drought (Honda In­te­gra); 6 An­thony Murtagh (VW Cor­rado). Class win­ner O’reilly. Fastest lap Tim­mons 1m00.235s (68.70mph). Pole Tim­mons. Starters 13.

1 Tim­mons 8m19.784s (66.24mph); 2 Ka­li­necki +3.274s; 3 Kinirons; 4 Shane Rab­bitt (Mazda RX-7); 5 Drought; 6 David Cas­sidy (Nis­san 200SX). CW Drought. FL Tim­mons 1m00.655s (68.23mph). P Kevin Do­ran (Honda Civic). S 11.

1 Philip Lawless 15m38.584s (57.32mph); 2 Michael Tu­multy +1.756s; 3 Trevor Far­rar; 4 Mark John­ston; 5 Adam John­ston; 6 Gary Wheeler. FL Tu­multy 1m11.428s (57.94mph). P Lawless. S 23. 1 Lawless 20m27.01s (53.96mph); 2 Far­rar +1.066s; 3 Dar­ragh Mcmullen; 4 Tu­multy; 5 Shane Kenny; 6 A John­ston. FL Mcmullen 1m11.437s (57.93mph). P Lawless. S 21. 5 Ian Con­roy; 6 Jonathan Tay­lor. FL Hol­man 1m03.720s (64.95mph). P Hol­man. S 9. 1 O’brien 8m42.920s (63.31mph); 2 Mered­ith +5.841s; 3 Tay­lor; 4 King; 5 Des Fo­ley; 6 Ken El­liott. FL Mered­ith 1m04.541s (64.12mph). P Con­roy. S 8.

1 Hol­man 10m51.296s (63.54mph); 2 Mered­ith +0.018s; 3 Con­roy; 4 King; 5 O’brien; 6 Fo­ley. FL Hol­man 1m03.906s (64.76mph). P Hol­man. S 8.

1 Jake Byrne 15m30.367s (62.27mph); 2 Peter Dren­nan +3.771s; 3 Mark Twomey; 4 Alan Macken; 5 Conor Far­rell; 6 Ivor Miller. FL Byrne 59.617s (69.42mph). P Byrne. S 9.

1 Byrne 15m12.362s (68.04mph); 2 Dren­nan +1.572s; 3 Mark Braden; 4 Far­rell; 5 Miller; 6 Michael Con­way. FL Byrne 59.617s (69.42mph). P Byrne. S 10.

Ciaran Tim­mons started his sea­son with a brace of ITCC wins

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.