Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - Ian Mills


Teifi Val­ley MC’S Rali Bro Pre­seli was won by the Peu­geot 306 of Tim Hand/ja­son Davies last Satur­day night. It was a close-run event as the win­ners only hit the front on the fi­nal sec­tion, when they over­hauled long-time lead­ers Mike James/aled John­son. The two crews fin­ished only 10 sec­onds apart but they were al­most two min­utes ahead of the rest of the field. De­spite not be­ing open to ex­pert crews, the event at­tracted an over­sub­scribed 75-car en­try.

Hav­ing taken their maiden rally win last month, Richard Hunter/gary Evans made it two out of two when they won a closely fought Kick Energy Der­byshire Rally. Ian Ainsworth/ste­wart Merry and Ben Bri­ant/ Max Free­man took turns at the head of the field but ended in third and fourth places. An­drew Smith/carl Wil­liamson were in the run­ner-up spot in their Peu­geot on the Mat­lock MC event. Top seeds Carl Hawkins/ Michael Gil­bey failed to make the fin­ish.

Matt War­ren/andy Pul­lan con­tin­ued their 100 per cent suc­cess rate in the HRCR Club­man Cham­pi­onship when, af­ter lead­ing all day, they took their third win of the year on round three of the se­ries, the Ilk­ley Ju­bilee on Sun­day.

Sim­i­larly, James How made it three wins out of three in the South Western Cham­pi­onship when he and nav­i­ga­tor Nic Jones drove their MG ZR to a clear win on North Devon MC’S Il­fra­combe Rally. They fin­ished 1m25s ahead of Tim Owen/jake Rams­den hav­ing dropped just 24 sec­onds them­selves.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.