Motor Sport News - - BRC: Pirelli Carlisle Rally -

BRC 2 went the way of Mid Wales hero Matt Ed­wards de­spite the fact he had a punc­ture. Ed­wards was the only class fin­isher and would have been even fur­ther up the or­der had it not been for his tyre is­sues as he con­tin­ues to im­press in the Mit­subishi Lancer E9.

As the only class en­trant, Chris Wheeler and Yan Griffiths were the BRC 3’ s sec­ond win­ner of the year. Af­ter some trou­ble get­ting the car ready for Mid Wales and not start­ing, it was a sweet re­sult for the English/welsh crew.

Now reg­is­tered for the cham­pi­onship, cham­pion down­hill moun­tain-biker Gee Ather­ton headed the BRC 4 cat­e­gory. Tony Simp­son went off on con­sec­u­tive days in his Ford Fi­esta ST, leav­ing Roger Platt sec­ond in his Fi­esta R2.

There was a very pop­u­lar BRC 5 win­ner as the god­son of the late Richard Burns – Tom Wil­liams – took the class win. He may have been the only class en­trant but a sen­si­ble and well mea­sured per­for­mance, as well as learn­ing to trust his notes more, meant the young­ster would surely have im­pressed 1993 win­ner Burns. He had the able Emma Morrison co-driv­ing.

The Na­tional Rally Cup sec­tion of the event went to Don­nie Mac­don­ald, who was re­warded af­ter a switch from Pirellis to Miche­lins. Had he en­tered BRC 2, he would have topped that class too. It was a good week­end for Mac­don­ald and co-driver An­drew Fal­coner af­ter com­pet­ing just the week­end be­fore in the Scot­tish cham­pi­onship. Swedish crew Robert Blomberg and Lars An­der­s­son steered the car that Osian Pryce guided to vic­tory in the class in Mid Wales to sec­ond, while John Morrison and Peter Carstairs were third. Nigel Feeney – co-driven by Abi Louden – was de­but­ing his TEG Sport B13 Subaru Im­preza on gravel in his first loose out­ing for a num­ber of years. They were fourth.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.