Fam­ily co-driver does the trick for Mccor­mack

Tour of the Sper­rins

Motor Sport News - - ERC: Acropolis Rally - By Wil­liam Neill

Or­gan­iser: Magher­afelt and Dis­trict Mo­tor Club Ltd When: May 7 Where: Maghera, County Lon­don­derry Cham­pi­onship: MSA ANICC Mc­grady In­surance North­ern Ire­land Rally Cham­pi­onship and Mo­tor­sport Ire­land Valvo­line Ir­ish Na­tional For­est Rally Cham­pi­onship Stages: 8 Starters: 72

Marty Mccor­mack – co-driven by niece Caron – won the Tour of Sper­rins Rally by 22.8s fol­low­ing a race with even­tual re­tiree Desi Henry.

The stages were on gravel for the first time in 11 years, and the event’s lo­cal Mccor­mack team were fastest on SS1, Banagher, by 1.1s in their S2000-spec Skoda Fabia. Henry’s R5 ver­sion of the mar­que was se­cond, ahead of rally spon­sor Derek Mcgee­han.

On the short 0.9-mile SS2, Henry closed the gap to the small­est of mar­gins at 0.1s. And, de­spite re­port­ing he was clean­ing the road, had a 1s ad­van­tage by first ser­vice.

Henry in­creased his lead to 5.9s af­ter the re­peat of Dav­agh’s SS6 but, on a muddy SS7 bend, left the road. Mcgee­han moved to se­cond ahead of Michael Carbin (1m40s back), who scored valu­able Ir­ish points ahead of Group N ri­val Niall Devine.

North­ern Ire­land cham­pi­onship leader Derek Mc­gar­rity re­ceived a 10-minute late penalty to fin­ish 41st. Re­sults 1 Marty Mccor­mack/ Caron Mccor­mack (Skoda Fabia S2000) 29m50s; 2 Derek Mcgee­han/arthur Kier­ans (Mini WRC) +22s; 3 Michael Carbin/ Dar­ragh Kelly (Mit­subishi Lancer E4); 4 Niall Devine/ Craw­ford Hen­der­son (Subaru Im­preza); 5 Shane Mc­girr/ Liam Mcin­tyre (Toy­ota Star­let); 6 David Crossen/ Chris Mcsherry (Ford Es­cort Mk2); 7 Bren­dan Cu­miskey/ Ro­nan O’kane (Ford Fi­esta R5); 8 John Gor­don/thomas Wed­lock (Es­cort Mk2); 9 Stephen Mckenna/ Mark Don­nelly (Lancer E6); 10 Michael Con­lon/ Ciaran Mcphillips (Es­cort Mk2).

Class win­ners Ja­son Dickson/ Vin­nie Boyd (Fi­esta R2); Devine/ Hen­der­son; Ruairi Maguire/ Grace O’brien (Vaux­hall Corsa); Alan Smyth/ Christo­pher Melly (Suzuki Swift S1600); Gor­don/wed­lock; Mc­girr/ Mcin­tyre; David Con­dell/ Eu­gene Mcgrath (Es­cort Mk2); Carbin/ Kelly; Mcgee­han/ Kier­ans; Mccor­mack/ Mccor­mack.

Mc­cor­ma­cks: Sper­rins win

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.