Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - Ian Mills

Event spon­sor Dale Fur­niss took his se­cond suc­ces­sive win on the Bor­der 100 Rally, when he and nav­i­ga­tor Nick Blox­ham led for most of the event over a tough and in­tri­cate route.

They tied for the lead with Iwan Jones/ste­wart Merry af­ter the 22-mile open­ing sec­tion, which in­cluded seven in­ter­me­di­ate time con­trols. The lat­ter crew slipped up on the se­cond sec­tion and al­lowed Fur­niss/blox­ham to open up a lead they weren’t to lose.

The chase was taken up by Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/steve Price, but they were al­ready 30 sec­onds down and fin­ished over a minute be­hind the win­ners at the end. Jones/merry took third; th­ese three crews be­ing well clear of the rest of the field.

There was a high at­tri­tion rate, with just 38 of the 88 starters mak­ing the Fin­ish. Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/gwawr Hughes de­vel­oped elec­tri­cal prob­lems on the open­ing test. They stopped and changed the al­ter­na­tor but the is­sues re­oc­curred al­most im­me­di­ately. The source of the prob­lem was traced to a faulty wire but by then they had lost a huge amount of time and re­tired.

Will Ar­row­smith/ceri Davies had held a top 10 position un­til a bro­ken fan belt cost them pre­cious time. Mean­while John ‘Mk1’ Thomas/ Neil Spiers re­tired af­ter be­com­ing stuck on a triangle.

Caernar­von­shire and An­gle­sey Mo­tor Club ran the Tour of An­gle­sey to cel­e­brate the club’s 80th an­niver­sary. The event was a mix of tests and plot ‘n’ bash road sec­tions. It was won by Martin Lloyd/rob Lloyd af­ter long-time lead­ers Mark Lennox/ Ian Beau­mont re­tired their Ford Anglia with bat­tery fail­ure.

Re­sults Bor­der 100 Rally

Or­gan­iser: Welsh Bor­der Car Club When: May 7/8 Where: Llan­fyllin Cham­pi­onships: WAMC, ANWCC and AWMMC Route: 100 miles Starters: 88. 1 Dale Fur­niss/ Nick Blox­ham (VW Golf GTI) 11m13s; 2 Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/ Steve Price (Golf GTI) +1m11s; 3 Iwan Jones/ Ste­wart Merry (Ford Es­cort); 4 Phil Turner/ Dafydd Evans (Peu­geot 205 GTI); 5 Kevin Davies/aled Richards (Es­cort); 6 Ste­fan ‘DR’ Davies/ Michael Gil­bey (Es­cort); 7 Guy Wood­cock/andy Pul­lan (Es­cort); 8 Peter Roberts/ Roger Evans (Golf GTI); 9 To­mos Lewis/ Dafydd Sion Lloyd (Es­cort); 10 Wyn Owens/jenny Evans (Es­cort).

Class win­ners Ex­perts: Lewis/ Lloyd; Semi-ex­perts: Ei­fion Thomas/ Rob Stephens (Pro­ton Sa­tria GTI); Novices: Dion Bee/ Osian Jones (BMW Com­pact).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.