Motor Sport News - - Sporting Scene - By Colin Casser­ley

Or­gan­iser: Track­star When: May 28 Starters: 39

Paul Har­ri­son be­came the 15th dif­fer­ent win­ner in 17 races of the 2016 BRISCA F1 sea­son when he crossed the line first at King’s Lynn on Satur­day night.

Will Yar­row jumped into an early lead and pulled away from the rest of the field but Yar­row’s lead be­gan to shrink as the race reached the half­way stage.

Fur­ther back, a bat­tle raged be­tween Rob Speak, Mat New­son and Paul Har­ri­son. New­son got the bet­ter of it and with just over five laps to go, he punted Yar­row wide to claim the front spot.

A yel­low flag then negated New­son’s ad­van­tage over the rest of the pack.

On the en­su­ing re-start, New­son went wide and lost sev­eral places al­low­ing Har­ri­son to grab a race-win­ning lead. New­son fought his way back to sec­ond at the che­quered flag with Speak hold­ing off Frankie Wain­man Jr for third.

Har­ri­son said: “It’s great to get a fi­nal win un­der my belt this sea­son, and it is even more spe­cial as it is a memorial race for Mi Jones, who was a great friend to all of us in this sport.

“My mir­ror came loose dur­ing the race and af­ter I got into the lead I was hold­ing it in one hand and steer­ing with the other.

“I knew Speak was some­where be­hind me and I wanted to know ex­actly how far be­cause if he was close enough I knew he would try and push me wide.”

New­son was not in such a good mood af­ter the race, how­ever. “I had that race won, but on the re-start I just went into the turn too deep and lost a lot of ground,” he ex­pained. “I don’t know if I had too much front brake or if I just tried too hard. I was think­ing if I could make it around the first turn [af­ter the re-start] then I would have won it but it wasn’t to be.”

Early leader Yar­row even­tu­ally came home in ninth po­si­tion. “I thought I had that, I looked in my mir­ror and there was no one there, then the track dried out and the next minute, they all passed me,” he ex­plained. “But, nev­er­the­less, I will keep on try­ing.”

Re­sult 1 Paul Har­ri­son; 2 Mat New­son; 3 Rob Speak; 4 Frankie Wain­man Jr ; 5 John Lund; 6 Joe Booth; 7 Nigel Green; 8 Will Hunter; 9 Will Yar­row; 10 Billy Johnson.

Paul Har­ri­son won in Nor­folk

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.