Evett and Hall re­turn to BTRDA for in­cred­i­ble re­sult 1400C/1400S

Motor Sport News - - Btrda: Dmack Carlisle Stages - Bri­tish GT Sil­ver­stone re­port, p32 STAR OF THE RALLY

11 Sacha Kakad/james Aldridge (Lancer E10); 12 Barry Ground­wa­ter/ Neil Shanks (Lancer E10); 13 Rory Young/al­lan Cathers (Fi­esta R5); 14 Scott Mccom­bie/ Mark Fisher (Lancer E9); 15 Shaun Sin­clair/ Stephen O’han­lon (Ford Fi­esta R5); 16 Ross Mac­don­ald/ Stu­art Loudon (Lancer E9); 17 Brian Bell/jamie Ed­wards (Fo­cus 07 WRC); 18 Ian Baum­gart/ Mike Dick­son (Im­preza); 19 Michael Bin­nie/ Claire Mole (Lancer E5); 20 Fraser Wil­son/ Craig Wal­lace (Lancer E9).

throt­tle and elec­tri­cal mal­ady, while it was Tay­lor to the fore. He de­clared the stage one of his favourites in ser­vice promis­ing a big push, and he didn’t dis­ap­point go­ing quick­est by two sec­onds. That may not seem so spe­cial in it­self, but the fact the Fo­cus crossed the sto­pline with two-front punc­tures tells you just how hard and quick Tay­lor had taken the stage. Luck­ily not suc­cumb­ing to nu­mer­ous clipped banks or a tree stump thanks to the punc­ture, Tay­lor and Roug­head in­her­ited sec­ond but the gap was still 17s with only the short Ash Park test left. There was no sign of it get­ting any eas­ier for Tay­lor ei­ther, with faulty power steer­ing ru­in­ing any chance of reel­ing in Henry. Af­ter fin­ish­ing sec­ond on the same event last year, it was a case of two years a brides­maid for the plucky crew.

But there was no stop­ping Henry who topped the fi­nal test on his way to a first BTRDA win and a sec­ond gravel win in 2016 af­ter top­ping the Moon­raker Rally in Ire­land.

Tak­ing the podium on the fi­nal stage by a sin­gle sec­ond was Jonny Greer as he be­gins a busy two months of ral­ly­ing. Sit­ting fifth in the Bri­tish Rally Cham­pi­onship stand­ings, he and Kirsty Greer were in Carlisle to sharpen up and gain more ex­pe­ri­ence on gravel be­fore the next Bri­tish Rally Cham­pi­onship round; the RSAC Scot­tish. An un­event­ful run gave the crew a great re­sult to take home, as they head to Done­gal next week­end.

De­spite be­ing de­posed on the fi­nal stage, Char­lie Payne over­came a trip into a ditch to be the high­est reg­is­tered BTRDA cam­paigner to fin­ish. That was made even more valu­able by the fact that his clos­est cham­pi­onship con­tender – Luke Fran­cis – re­tired af­ter prop­shaft trou­ble and hav­ing only two-wheel-drive af­ter SS2. The Welsh­man will need to win the next two and he con­firmed he would be at­tempt­ing to do so on two of his favourite events, the Nicky Grist and the Wood­pecker.

An­other driver with trou­ble was Stephen Petch, who went with a rad­i­cal tyre choice in the morn­ing loop. He thought the strong side­wall would help as others could suf­fer punc­tures, but as he stated in ser­vice, that was no good if you weren’t on the pace and close enough to ben­e­fit. De­spite a punc­ture, off and over­shoot on the same stage in the af­ter­noon, he man­aged to come home fifth and sec­ond reg­is­tered BTRDA run­ner with Michael Wilkin­son on the notes.

Petch’s fin­ish also meant that Pirelli – which­has a fac­tory in Carlisle – boasted the top five fin­ish­ers on it’s rub­ber.

Be­hind Petch but still im­press­ing in the or­der were Paul Benn and Richard Cooke in sixth in their Ford Fo­cus WRC02, con­tin­u­ing their strong run in Carlisle af­ter a fourth on the Mal­colm Wil­son Rally, the sec­ond round of the BTRDA.

As the dust set­tled, 36 cars of the 111 en­tries re­tired on what was a tax­ing rally, but the real win­ners were Henry and Payne. Henry scored a con­fi­dence-boost­ing win to take with him to the Scot­tish Rally, af­ter fifth on the Brc-count­ing Pirelli Rally last month. Payne takes max­i­mum points from this event and a 22 BTRDA Gold Star points lead into the Nicky Grist in July. The York­shire­man has a win, two sec­onds and this week­end’s fourth on his record in a con­sis­tent 2016 run so far. ■ morn­ing’s com­pet­i­tive ac­tion.

But the real drama oc­curred in the af­ter­noon. In the fourth of five stages, Brick had an off into a ditch in the plucky Vaux­hall Nova and his hard work was un­done in what is a tricky rally.

Evett took an­other four sec­onds on the fi­nal stage and the win be­longed to he and Hall. For a near stan­dard car to beat many more pow­er­ful cars was an in­cred­i­ble achieve­ment for the crew.

Neil An­drew/dom Adams (Nis­san Mi­cra) rounded out the top three be­hind Brick.

Af­ter a sim­i­lar bat­tle on the re­cent Mal­colm Wil­son Stages also held in Kielder, Jor­dan and Paul Hone took 1400S hon­ours in their Pro­ton Sa­tria.

Mal­colm Wil­son win­ner and 2014 1400 cham­pion Mat Smith had been lead­ing but took a wheel off in the lengthy SS4, leav­ing the like­able North­ern Ir­ish crew to over­come power steer­ing is­sues in the af­ter­noon on his way to class hon­ours and 34th over­all.

Sec­ond in class were Matthew Jack­son/claire Wil­liams (Mi­cra) af­ter some in­spired re­pairs on the rear-right cor­ner kept the car in the event. Even more im­pres­sive con­sid­er­ing it was Jack­son’s first visit to Kielder. They man­aged 40th over­all. Keith/mairi Rid­dick (MG ZR) were third.

Or­gan­iser: Black­pool South Shore Mo­tor Club Date: June 12 Where: Wee­ton Camp, Nr Black­pool Cham­pi­onships: ANWCC; F1000; SD34; Ju­nior 1000 Rally Cham­pi­onship (Ju­niors only). Stages: 11 Starters: 55

In a re­peat of last year’s re­sult Si­mon Bowen and Richard Robin­son took the vic­tor’s spoils in their Subaru Im­preza WRC S11 fin­ish­ing al­most three min­utes ahead of the Ford Es­cort Cos­worth of Mark Roberts and Stephen Lan­den.

A spin on SS1 meant Bowen fin­ished the test in fifth place, 25 sec­onds adrift of the Ford Fo­cus WRC03 of Gra­ham But­ler and Chris O’con­nor. There­after, Bowen dom­i­nated the fastest stage times, grab­bing the lead af­ter SS5 and not let­ting go. But­ler’s re­tire­ment with gear­box prob­lems in SS7 left Bowen with a minute mar­gin over Roberts and not even an in­ter­mit­tent is­sue with the launch con­trol could pre­vent him from win­ning.

Roberts sur­ren­dered sec­ond place to the sim­i­lar car of Keith Richard­son and Sion Cun­niff at the end of SS10 but an ECU is­sue meant they’d go no fur­ther leav­ing Roberts as run­ner-up. Nigel and Tim Hobson looked set to fin­ish third but a last stage al­ter­ca­tion with a kerb left their Mit­subishi Lancer E9 mi­nus a wheel. That handed the fi­nal podium place to

Payne/wil­liamson the big BTRDA win­ners as Fran­cis re­tired

Evett/hall scored ex­cel­lent class and over­all re­sult Jor­dan/paul Hone headed class af­ter Smith’s demise

Bowen re­peated 2015 sucess with a mar­gin of over three min­utes Keith Frecker Me­mo­rial Stages

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.