Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

Not even heavy rain, mul­ti­ple safety cars and a stop-go penalty was enough to pre­vent JPR Uvio from earn­ing its first win in the 2016 Fun­cup. An im­pres­sive first stint by Far­quini Deott from 16th meant that by the first driver change, Gra­ham Roberts had a solid po­si­tion to build on at the front.

His lead of one-minute was re­duced to just a sec­ond at the half­way mark, when the safety car was de­ployed in con­di­tions deemed un­safe for rac­ing, hand­ing Deott the mam­moth task of re­build­ing the deficit af­ter the third stop and Roberts’ dou­ble stint. De­spite hold­ing off at­tacks from Honey­well’s Neil Plim­mer, the lead he built was ex­tin­guished af­ter mak­ing con­tact with a back­marker, forc­ing a penalty and push­ing the team down to fourth.

By the fi­nal hour, a light­ning fast fi­nal driver change and some bold over­tak­ing, JPR Uvio, was back in the lead, with a 57-sec­ond cush­ion.

Once again though, and with 20-min­utes left, an­other safety car was brought out when stand­ing wa­ter sent Honey­well’s Tim Wheel­don off, cut­ting the gap for a sec­ond time. It meant there was just enough time for Des­patch­’s James Lit­tle­john to carve past both Eco Rac­ing cars into sec­ond at the restart. He fin­ished be­hind Deott, who sealed the vic­tory JPR Uvio had flirted with all af­ter­noon.

It was an ex­cit­ing week­end for the Fi­esta Ju­nior Cham­pi­onship as Ronan Quinn took vic­tory from 10th on the grid ahead of Lochlan Bear­man and Harry Good­ing in race one. An early charge up the field from the start put him in the best po­si­tion to take ad­van­tage of the re­tire­ments of James Hillery and leader James Waite, putting him into sec­ond. A move past Good­ing through Mur­ray then sealed the win. He couldn’t make it a clean sweep though as in race two, an overzeal­ous move meant Quinn re­tired af­ter hit­ting the rear of win­ner Good­ing, who cel­e­brated his third 2016 vic­tory.

Si­mon Hor­robin took both wins in the Fi­esta Cham­pi­onship. Af­ter lead­ing Sam Priest to a Spe­cialised Mo­tor­sport one-two, ahead of the re­turn­ing JJ Ross, Hor­robin knocked Priest off the track in race two. While Priest re­cov­ered to sixth, a bold move on Ross into the Brun­dle chi­cane on the fi­nal lap meant Hor­robin took away a clean sweep of wins.

There were two races in the BMW Com­pact Cup as for the first time this sea­son the cars formed a sin­gle grid. Ian Jones made it seven dif­fer­ent race win­ners from the first seven races af­ter beat­ing James Gor­nall off the line and con­tin­u­ing to hold off the 2008 Bri­tish GT cham­pion. It was a dif­fer­ent story in race two though, where Gor­nall made amends, claim­ing vic­tory.

Snet­ter­ton also played host to two HRDC grids. In the Academy race, Wil­liam Lynch’s Mini Cooper was vic­to­ri­ous in a race cut short af­ter Richard But­ter­field’s Austin rolled mul­ti­ple times at Brun­dle. Mike Jor­dan took the Tour­ing Greats race, nar­rowly beat­ing pole­man Michael Caine.

1 JPR Uvio (Gra­ham Roberts/ Far­quini Deott); 2 Des­patch­ (Andy Bick­nell/ James Lit­tle­john) +2.281s; 3 Eco Rac­ing 61 (Alan Brown/ Rory Brown/jay Shep­pard); 4 Eco Rac­ing 209 (Paul Gra­ham/ Tom Mills/ Paul Turner); 5 Team Lane Roof­ing (Nigel Grif­fiths/ Christo­pher Weather­ill/ Geff Fawcett); 6 Global Rac­ing (Scott Mansell/john Gil­bert/ Sarah Reader. FL JPR Uvio (Gra­ham Roberts) 2m17.871s (77.52mph). P MCAC Rac­ing (Matthew Jones/ Philip Jones/ Gareth Jones). S 26.

1 Ronan Quinn; 2 Lochlan Bear­man +3.166s; 3 Harry Good­ing; 4 Bradley Burns; 5 El­liot Wil­son; 6 Jack David­son. FL James Hillery 2m22.510s (74.99mph). P James Waite. S 17.

1 Good­ing; 2 David­son +1.980s; 3 Burns; 4 Lewis Kent; 5 Wil­son; 6 Waite. FL Burns 2m20.944s (75.83mph) P Quinn. S 16.

1 Hor­robin; 2 Ross +0.147; 3 Skriczka; 4 San­der­son; 5 Faulconbridge; 6 Priest. CW Kel­let; Tim Ben­nett (Fi­esta Si); Robin­son. FL Hor­robin 2m16.457s (78.32mph). P Priest. S 33. P Gor­nall. S 41. 1 Gor­nall; 2 Jones +0.084s; 3 Hunter; 4 Jon Watt; 5 Wig­gin; 6 De­clan Mcdonnell. FL Jones 2m22.887s. (73.92mph). P Gor­nall. S 41.

1 Wil­liam Lynch (Mini Cooper S); 2 Brian Small (Ash­ley MG Mid­get) +0.397s; 3 Thomas Grindall (MG W&P GT); 4 James Dor­lin (Austin A35); 5 Tony Shirt­cliffe (Austin A35); 6 Nick Pow­ell (Austin A35). CW Dor­lin. FL Grindall 2m31.839s (70.39mph). P Lynch. S 28.


Peter Barrable and Sam Mof­fett starred in the Su­per­cars. Se­ries leader Andy O’brien had qual­i­fied on pole but an ill ad­vised choice of wet tyres saw him slip down the grid as con­di­tions dried out.

Barrable took the lead from the out­side of the front row and was un­chal­lenged on the way to the win. Mof­fett was sec­ond with Graeme Colfer just hold­ing off the charg­ing Bob Cameron for third.

In race two, Mof­fett took the lead early on as Barrable and O’brien bat­tled in his wake. Mof­fett con­trolled it beau­ti­fully and when the chasers col­lided at turn two on the fi­nal tour, he was as­sured of a de­but vic­tory.

Jonathan Fildes qual­i­fied on pole for his SEAT Su­per­cup Ire­land de­but. He led away but a grassy mo­ment out of Pad­dock handed the lead to Rob But­ler with for­mer A1 GP driver Niall Quinn also dis­plac­ing Fildes by mid-race. A safety car pe­riod changed it all though as Fildes cooled his tyres be­fore div­ing by Quinn and charg­ing up to chal­lenge win­ner But­ler at the fi­nal cor­ner.

In race two, Erik Hol­stein ben­e­fit­ted from the re­verse grid to ease away from the bat­tles be­hind and even a late-race charge from Dave O’brien could not stop him tak­ing a pop­u­lar win.

Jackie Cochrane took a pair of HRCA wins with Bernard Fo­ley’s MGBGT V8 the only ma­chine to keep the rum­bling Tiger in sight on both oc­ca­sions.

Alan Watkins took a dou­ble Ir­ish Sportscar win, with Des Bru­ton his clos­est chal­lenger in both.

Sean Lil­lis took a pair of Fi­esta ST wins, but only af­ter for­mer ITCC star Kev Do­ran re­tired from the lead in race one, the dam­age pre­vent­ing him from start­ing race two.

Mondello’s Phil Law­less won twice in Zetec Fi­es­tas to in­crease his cham­pi­onship lead, but had to work hard for both, Dar­ren Lawler even snatch­ing the lead briefly in race two.

Grze­gorz Ka­li­necki took yet an­other pair of Su­per Tour­ing ITCC wins in his Volk­swa­gen Golf with Keith Camp­bell’s Cor­rado-honda tak­ing two run­ner-up spots. Ian O’driscoll and Robert Do­herty shared the Pro­duc­tion class wins.

Kevin Sheane re­turned to win­ning form in For­mula Sheane with two wins. Dave Parks was run­ner-up in race one, with Rob­bie Allen rel­e­gat­ing Parks to third in race two.

Dan Pol­ley dom­i­nated the first For­mula Vee race but in race two fel­low Mondello Park in­struc­tor Kevin Gro­gan snatched the lead into Lola cor­ner and held on de­spite Pol­ley’s best ef­forts.

Rob­bie Parks’ Mit­subishi FTO took Fu­ture Clas­sics hon­ours af­ter Ral­ly­cross ace Pa­trick Donoghue was pe­nalised for break­ing the bar­rier time on a num­ber of oc­ca­sions. Aidan Byrne was next up in a Chevette with Timmy Dug­gan’s SEAT com­plet­ing the podium.

Scot­tish se­ries vis­i­tor John Pater­son took the first Leg­ends race de­spite the best ef­forts of Niki Mered­ith and Paul O’brien. Mered­ith re­dressed the bal­ance with a home win in race two and re­peated it in race three, de­spite the best at­ten­tions of brother in law James Hol­man. Hol­man re­versed the or­der in the fourth race, while Pater­son took an­other im­pres­sive win in race five, with Mered­ith and Hol­man right on his bumper. In the fi­nal race O’brien took a great win from Pater­son and Hol­man.

JPR Uvio claimed late Fun­cup win

Mof­fett won Su­per­car race two

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.