Brun­dle de­nied an­other Le Mans vic­tory SUP­PORTS

Motor Sport News - - Le Mans Results - Jack Cozens

Martin Brun­dle was de­nied vic­tory in the Road to Le Mans race as DC Rac­ing’s Thomas Lau­rent and Alexan­dre Coug­naud beat the Bri­ton and team-mate Chris­tian England into sec­ond.

Hav­ing qual­i­fied his United Au­tosports Ligier JSP3 on pole, Brun­dle lost the lead at the start of the Le Mans 24 Hours sup­port event de­spite mak­ing a strong get­away.

He ap­peared to catch Ginetta driver Char­lie Robert­son off guard as the race be­gan, but Robert­son tucked in be­hind the Ligier be­fore pulling off a bold move at the Dunlop Chi­cane to snatch the lead.

Brun­dle also dropped be­hind James Winslow’s Graff Ligier, but re­turned to sec­ond a hand­ful of laps later and grad­u­ally eased clear be­fore hand­ing to England.

The United Au­tosports Ligier should have in­her­ited the race lead, as Lawrence Tom­lin­son lost the rear of the Ginetta at the Dunlop chi­cane on his sec­ond lap, but a spin on England’s first lap cou­pled with a swift pit­stop and out­lap from Lau­rent handed the DC Rac­ing Ligier the lead.

Lau­rent, who was dis­ap­pointed not to qual­ify on pole two days ear­lier, was not troubled from there as he stormed clear in the fi­nal half hour, even­tu­ally fin­ish­ing 16.863s clear.

England re­cov­ered to sec­ond, hav­ing made his way back past Ro­mano Ricci dur­ing the mid­dle of his stint, ahead of John Falb.

Mar­cello Puglisi sur­vived a chaotic Fer­rari Chal­lenge af­fair to win the Le Mans 24 Hours sup­port race.

Puglisi started sixth, but had made his way up to fourth when the safety car was de­ployed at the end of lap one. He then moved up to sec­ond place when leader Bjork Gross­mann was spun by Philipp Baron and, after jostling with pole­sit­ter Al­berto Cola, slot­ted into a lead he would never lose as Cola spun on the exit of the Porsche Curves.

Bri­tish driver Sam Smeeth fin­ished in sec­ond place, with Gross­mann re­cov­er­ing to a fine third place after a solid fight back.

Thomas Lau­rent/ Alexan­dre Coug­naud (DC Rac­ing LigierNis­san); 2 Martin Brun­dle/ Chris­tian England (United Au­tosports Ligier-nis­san) +16.863s; 3 John Falb (Graff Ligier-nis­san); 4 Yann Ehrlacher/ Ro­mano Ricci M Rac­ing – YMR (Ligier-nis­san); 5 Guy Cosmo/ Mike Hed­land (United Au­tosports Ligier-nis­san); 6 Ter­rence Wood­ward/james Swift (360 Rac­ing LigierNis­san). FL Cosmo 3m54.491s (130.01mph). P Brun­dle. S 18. 1 Alek­sey Basov/ Vic­tor Shay­tar (AF Corse Fer­rari F488); 2 Hiroshi Ha­m­aguchi/adrian Quaife-hobbs (FFF Rac­ing Team by ACM Mclaren 650S) +11.238s; 3 Egidio Per­fetti/ Klaus Bach­ler (Men­tos Rac­ing Porsche 911 GT3 R); 4 Salih Yoluc/ Euan Hankey (TF Sport As­ton Martin V12 Van­tage GT3); 5 Thomas Flohr/ Francesco Castel­lacci (AF Corse Fer­rari); 6 Andrew Jar­man/ Devon Modell (TF Sport As­ton Martin). FL Bach­ler 3m59.907s (127.08 mph). P Per­fetti S 19.

Robert­son (l) and Brun­dle head the sup­port race grid RACE DATA

DC Ligier took the vic­tory

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.