Com­ing very close...

Motor Sport News - - British Rallycross -

It’s in­evitable that where there are win­ners or cham­pi­ons in any sport or dis­ci­pline, there are also those who just miss out.

Rac­ing at the penul­ti­mate round of the 2008 Bri­tish RX series at Pem­brey, cur­rent Mit­subishi cam­paigner Steve Hill lay in sec­ond po­si­tion in the Su­per­fi­nal, set to score top points as ti­tle ri­vals Lawrence Gib­son and Ol­lie O’dono­van had ex­pe­ri­enced is­sues in the event and race leader Kevin Proc­ter was not reg­is­tered for points. But, Hill wanted vic­tory and made a brave move to pass Proc­ter, which didn’t pay off, the Mit­subishi crash­ing out heav­ily.

The in­ci­dent ef­fec­tively ended Hill’s ti­tle chances and, at the fi­nal round at Mon­dello Park, O’dono­van also had prob­lems and Gib­son claimed his sec­ond crown.

A year ear­lier, now BTCC cham­pion An­drew Jor­dan en­tered the penul­ti­mate round of the series at Mon­dello tied for the cham­pi­onship lead on dropped scores, but didn’t qual­ify for the Su­per­fi­nal (which, run­ning to Ir­ish Cham­pi­onship reg­u­la­tions, only in­cluded eight starters, when the Bri­tish series usu­ally in­cluded 10). O’dono­van took the series lead at the event and claimed the ti­tle at the fi­nal round at Croft.

In 1999, Der­mot Carnegie’s Ford Es­cort broke a drive­shaft on the start line in the fi­nal round, leav­ing reign­ing ti­tle holder Hel­mut Holfeld only need­ing to fin­ish in the top three to se­cure the ti­tle. Holfeld led, only to spin down to fifth and lose the ti­tle to Carnegie at the death.

Six-time cham­pion Carnegie was also on the op­pos­ing end of some typ­i­cal fi­nal-round bad luck in his ca­reer. Trevor Hop­kins en­tered the fi­nal round in 1993 just need­ing to qual­ify for the Su­per­fi­nal to be as­sured of the crown, but in an in­ci­dent-packed Su­per­car fi­nal, Mark Fla­herty oblit­er­ated the rear of Carnegie’s Metro 6R4, end­ing the Ir­ish­man’s chances of mak­ing the Su­per­fi­nal, only for Hop­kins to get held up be­hind the stricken 6R4 and also not make the Su­per­fi­nal. Mike Turpin won the event and the ti­tle by a sin­gle point.

An­drew Jor­dan failed to qual­ify for the eight-car su­per­fi­nal at Mon­dello

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.