Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

It was a late 1-2 in the CNC Heads Sports Sa­loons for the Sak­ers of Paul Rose and Steve Har­ris. Garry Wat­son’s West­field led Joe Spencer’s Lo­cosaki ini­tially but, af­ter Rose got the bet­ter of Har­ris from the start, he split the lead duo on the sec­ond lap.

Wat­son held on for an­other six laps be­fore Rose made the de­ci­sive move into Old Hall. The West­field driver re­tained a solid sec­ond un­til his car cut out ex­it­ing Lodge on the last lap. Har­ris went by but Wat­son man­aged to fire up again to re­tain third, from Spencer, Dave Har­vey’s Lo­cosaki and Ric Wood’s BMW M3 GTR.

Lee Bowron and Michael Black­burn’s Xr3is made an early break in the first com­bined XR Chal­lenge/scot­tish Fi­esta race un­til Bowron spun at Druids and the pair col­lided. Greg Speight’s XR2 was left clear, but Michael Heath’s hopes of sec­ond were wiped out when Scot­tish Fi­esta chal­lenger Wayne Macau­lay t-boned him at Shell. Black­burn even­tu­ally re­claimed sec­ond at Is­land on the last lap at the ex­pense of Ben Atkin­son.

Speight’s hopes of a sec­ond win were dashed when he sud­denly lost power af­ter a cou­ple of laps. This al­lowed Black­burn to win, with Scots Kevin Whyte and Chris Mil­ford oust­ing Atkin­son on the last lap, while Steve Poole also dropped back with en­gine mal­adies.

All of the Cater­ham Grad­u­ates classes pro­vided ex­cit­ing race­long bat­tles. Both Su­per races fea­tured three-way bat­tles be­tween joint cham­pi­onship lead­ers Ed­ward Ben­son and Andy Mol­som with Toby Bri­ant join­ing in. Ben­son made it five wins with a dou­ble, but all three had a share of the lead. Bri­ant lost ground to his ri­vals to­wards the end of race one, but had the legs of Mol­som in race two. Graeme Smith won the con­cur­rent Clas­sic class, com­ing out on top in a fi­nal dash in both races over Steven Mcmaster af­ter they ex­ited Lodge vir­tu­ally side by side on both oc­ca­sions.

Luke Cooper was an­other dou­ble win­ner in the Me­gas. He swapped and changed through­out race one with cham­pi­onship leader Oliver Gib­son, but a four-car bat­tle was down to three when Glenn Burten­shaw crashed at Old Hall and de­layed Roger Ford. Cooper just kept Gib­son at bay with Ford a dis­tant third.

De­clan Dolan had the edge over both Cooper and Gib­son in the sec­ond race, but he grad­u­ally slipped back to sixth and left it to be­come a two horse race for the vic­tory spoils. Cooper then es­caped from Gib­son, who was left de­fend­ing sec­ond from Ian Noble. Jamie Win­row won the con­cur­rent Sigma class, dom­i­nant in race one, but had Ja­son Gale much closer in the sec­ond.

Dy­lan Stan­ley and Lee Bristow shared the Sig­max vic­tory spoils. Stan­ley took the win in race one, but was un­der pres­sure from Bristow. Cedric Bloch split the pair too and led briefly, but Stan­ley held on with Bristow los­ing sec­ond to Bloch on count­back af­ter the race was red flagged.

It was any one from five for the race two lead, with Bristow and Stan­ley al­ter­nat­ing. From half way Bristow man­aged to break clear for his sixth win of the year. Stan­ley man­aged to re­tain sec­ond from Bloch and Si­mon Oliphant.

1 Paul Rose (Saker RAPX); 2 Steve Har­ris (Saker RAPX) +10.927s; 3 Garry Wat­son (West­field SEW); 4 Joe Spencer (Stu­art Tay­lor Lo­cosaki); 5 David Har­vey (Stu­art Tay­lor Lo­cosaki); 6 Ric Wood (BMW M3 GTR). CW Wat­son; Spencer; Steven Parker (BMW Com­pact); Mike Hurst (SEAT Leon Cupra); Clive Dix (Ford Puma). FL Rose 1m44.321s (92.89mph). P Wat­son. S 35.

1 Greg Speight (XR2); 2 Michael Black­burn (XR3I) +1.489s; 3 Ben Atkin­son (XR2); 4 Chris Mil­ford (Fi­esta ST); 5 Lee Shrop­shire (XR2); 6 Steve Poole (XR2). CW Black­burn; Mil­ford; Mark Noble (Fi­esta Si); Josh Orr (XR2). FL Wayne Macau­lay (Fi­esta ST) 2m04.923s (77.57mph). P Lee Bowron (XR3I). S 29.

1 Black­burn; 2 Kevin Whyte (Fi­esta ST) +1.258s; 3 Mil­ford; 4 Atkin­son; 5 Michael Heath (XR2); 6 Shrop­shire. CW Whyte; Atkin­son; Noble; Barry Far­quhar­son (XR2). FL Macau­lay 2m04.757s (77.67mph). P Speight. S 28. Bri­ant; 4 Harry Cramer; 5 Tom Hay­man-joyce; 6 An­thony Jaffe. CW Graeme Smith. FL Bri­ant 1m56.391s (83.25mph). P Ben­son. S 24.

1 Ben­son; 2 Bri­ant +0.512s; 3 Mol­som; 4 Hay­man-joyce; 5 Jaffe; 6 Barry White. CW Smith. FL Hay­man-joyce 1m57.289s (82.61mph). P Ben­son. S 24.

1 Cooper; 2 Gib­son +1.205s; 3 Noble; 4 An­drew Skin­ner; 5 Ray­ment; 6 Dolan. CW Win­row. FL Dolan 1m56.433s (83.22mph). P Cooper. S 19.

Cater­ham Sig­max Grad­u­ates (10 laps)

Black­burn tri­umphed in sec­ond XR en­counter

Rose’s Saker won the CNC Heads Sports Sa­loons con­test

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.