Mcgee­han supreme in Bal­lykelly

1 De­clan Boyle/ Brian Boyle (Ford Fi­esta WRC) 1h03m40.6s; 2 Alas­tair Fisher/ Gor­don Noble (Fi­esta R5) +34.7s; 3 Josh Moffett/john Rowan (Fi­esta R5); 4 Roy White/james O’brien (Fi­esta WRC); 5 Peadar Hur­son/ Damien Con­nolly (Subaru Im­preza WRC S12B); 6 Step

Motor Sport News - - Erc: Rally Rzeszow - By Wil­liam Neill Re­sults

Or­gan­iser: Maiden City Mo­tor Club When: Au­gust 6 Where: Bal­lykelly, County Lon­don­derry Cham­pi­onship: ANICC Ju­nior 1000 Rally Chal­lenge Ire­land Starters: 84 Stages: 6

A year af­ter a spin cost them any shot at vic­tory, Alan Mcgee­han and Niall Magee were able to put that be­hind them and win the Dogleap Rally by head­ing a Mcgee­han Mo­tor­sport one-two on Satur­day by 41s.

Joseph Mcgonigle started as he fin­ished last year. Af­ter win­ning the event in 2015, he went fastest on the 5.7-mile SS,1 but a penalty for miss­ing a con­trol dropped the Skoda Fabia S2000 to the back.

On stage times he would have fin­ished sec­ond, just 3.7s be­hind Mcgee­han.

Mcgee­han’s place how­ever was un­de­ni­able as he joined his brother Derek as a venue win­ner.

Alan Carmichael is a reg­u­lar at Shack­le­ton and that per­se­ver­ance placed him sec­ond in an­other Mcgee­han-run Mini WRC. He was 41s shy of the win­ning time but punched in steady stages with four third fastest times be­side Ivor Lamont.

Sea­mus O’connell steered his Ford Es­cort Mk2 to third and first two-wheel-drive. Af­ter SS1 he was sixth be­fore jump­ing two places on the re­peat be­fore a close race with Johnny Mor­row mid-event.

Young Cal­lum Devine, 9.7s back, tried hard in his Opel Adam and be­lieves if it rained the re­sult would have im­proved. He fin­ished fourth, one place up on last year and is in good form for the Ul­ster Rally on Au­gust 18.

John Bon­ner’s Ford Es­cort Mk2 climbed from 24th fastest on SS1 to fifth by the fin­ish thanks to a fi­nal stage swap with Marty Gal­lagher. John Bradley ma­jorly im­proved on his seed­ing at 75 to fin­ish sev­enth.

Peter Ben­nett and An­drew Bushe won the Ju­niors by 43s in a Skoda Cit­igo.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.