Bo­con­noc Motorsport Fes­ti­val

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Ian Har­den

Or­gan­iser: War­ring­ton & DMC South Hams Mo­tor Club/ Newquay Auto Club/ Ply­mouth Mo­tor Club/ Camel Vale Mo­tor Club When: Au­gust 14 Where: Bo­con­noc Es­tate, Corn­wall. Cham­pi­onships: ASWMC Sealed Sur­face, ACSMC Tar­mac Stages: 12 Starters: 50

Martin Wa­ters/ben Pur­nell (BMW 325i) scored their sec­ond con­sec­u­tive win at the Bo­con­noc Motorsport Fes­ti­val af­ter a close duel with Steve and Yvonne Furze­land (Subaru Im­preza S12 WRC).

An eighth-stage over­shoot by Furze­land made the dif­fer­ence be­tween vic­tory and de­feat. It broke a morn­ing-long stale­mate and Wa­ters seized the ini­tia­tive, set­ting four sec­ond-fastest times in a row to take an 18s vic­tory.

As in 2015, Kevin and Charles Tap­pin (Ford Es­cort Mk2) set the early pace chased by Wa­ters, Furze­land and even­tual third-placed crew Richard Fish­leigh/ian Ed­wards (Es­cort Mk2). Tap­pin’s car soon re­tired though, with shock ab­sorber fail­ure on stage four.

Mike Ray­mond/scott Smith now chal­lenged the lead­ing trio; driv­ing hard from the start. The Ford Es­cort pair moved up from 22nd to fourth, which they held to the end.

Fifth-placed Danielle Furze­land/holly Creamer led home an all-im­preza trio of Richard Bar­row/an­drew Richards and Gra­ham Roberts/bradley Down. The three crews were never more than six sec­onds apart on any stage.

Ed Lam­bert and Gareth Drayton (Peu­geot 106 Ral­lye) con­tin­ued their sea­son-long strong form, fin­ish­ing eighth and scoop­ing Class A hon­ours.

Class B was hard-fought through­out. Derek Bligh/ Nigel Bar­nett (Suzuki Swift) beat Mat Wheeler/alex Hawkins (Citroen C2 VTR) by five sec­onds, af­ter long-time lead­ers Phil/david Gar­nett (Es­cort) broke a drive­shaft on stage eight.

Fur­ther back in 19th, Brian Moore/paul Hughes fi­nally fin­ished af­ter three at­tempts. The Vaux­hall As­tra pair­ing crashed at ex­actly the same spot in both 2014 and 2015.


1 Martin Wa­ters/ Ben Pur­nell (BMW 325i) 25m39s; 2 Steve Furze­land/yvonne Furze­land (Subaru Im­preza S12 WRC) +18s; 3 Richard Fish­leigh/ Ian Ed­wards (Ford Es­cort Mk2); 4 Mike Ray­mond/ Scott Smith (Es­cort Mk2); 5 Danielle Furze­land/ Holly Creamer (Im­preza WRC); 6 Richard Bar­row/an­drew Richards (Im­preza); 7 Gra­ham Roberts/ Bradley Down (Im­preza); 8 Ed Lam­bert/ Gareth Drayton (Peu­geot 106 Ral­lye); 9 David Peters/ Roger Par­tridge (Im­preza); 10 Sam Per­ring/amy Fer­gus (BMW E36). Class win­ners Lam­bert/ Drayton; Derek Bligh/ Ni­gal Bar­nett (Suzuki Swift); Fish­leigh/ Ed­wards; Per­ring/ Fer­gus; S Furze­land/y Furze­land.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.