Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

Adri­ano Medeiros scup­pered his chances of ex­tend­ing his cham­pi­onship lead in Clas­sic For­mula Ford 1600.

Hav­ing held off Mike Gard­ner to win by just un­der a sec­ond in race one, Medeiros formed up late on the grid for race two. He over­took the field on the for­ma­tion lap to start on pole in­stead of start­ing from the back and was dis­qual­i­fied for the rule in­fringe­ment.

Top­ping off a mis­er­able af­ter­noon for Medeiros, he also earned a 10s penalty as a re­sult of a clash with Gard­ner, who spun out of the race early on. With that, Nigel Ling­wood took the race two win post-race and now leads the cham­pi­onship. Matthew Wrigley took Class B hon­ours in both races ahead of Ian Jeary and Kevin How­ell.

Fer­rari Chal­lenge driv­ers Bon­amy Grimes and Char­lie Hollings nar­rowly missed out on vic­tory in race one of the Dun­lop GT & Pro­duc­tion Cham­pi­onship, los­ing by just 0.4s of a sec­ond to the 458 GT3 of Calum Lockie and David Ma­son. Lockie’s ad­van­tage over Grimes had been over a lap at the pit­stops but, af­ter hand­ing over to Hollings, the Chal­lenge car chased down the Ma­son-driven GT3 all the way to the che­quered flag. Two laps down in third came White­bridge Motorsport’s As­ton Martin GT4 pi­loted by Chris Mur­phy and Jonathan Cocker, who also took the third step on the podium in race two.

Sadly, the podium was seen by nei­ther of the Fer­raris, with the Lockie/ma­son car sav­ing fuel and tyres for the En­duro and the Grimes/hollings ma­chine re­tir­ing with a gear­box mal­func­tion. The race win went to Mike Moss and David Cooper in their age­ing BMW M3 E46.

Phil Han­son and Nigel Moore ex­tended their lead in the Dun­lop En­durance Cham­pi­onship with a dom­i­nant vic­tory. Af­ter ini­tially fall­ing be­hind the Fer­rari 458 GT3 of Lockie and Ma­son, they fought back to win with a crush­ing two-lap vic­tory over the Fer­rari 458 Chal­lenge driven by Mike and An­thony Wilds – who also won Class 2. Key to their vic­tory was the de­ci­sion to pit un­der the two safety car pe­ri­ods, caused by the Macg Rac­ing Tara­nis of Jonny Mac­gre­gor and Ben Shar­ish shat­ter­ing a wheel and the Syn­chro Motorsport Honda Civic of Martin By­ford/daniel Wheeler crash­ing into the spin­ning Porsche 997 of Mark and Peter Cun­ning­ham.

Class 3 was a close con­test early on but, de­spite a strong chal­lenge from the White­bridge Motorsport As­ton Martin GT4 of Jonny Cocker and Chris Mur­phy, the Be­spoke Cars Rac­ing Porsche 997 Cup of Mar­cus Fothergill, David Benett and Adam Daw­son took the win.

Mike Moss, David Cooper and Ash­ley Bird’s BMW M3 took Class 4 vic­tory. The By­ford/wheeler Honda Civic did fin­ish the race 43 laps down and won Class 5.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.