Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

Jonathan Greensmith took his maiden MX-5 Su­per­cup win on Satur­day and pro­duced a bril­liant re­cov­ery drive 24 hours later, fol­low­ing a first lap spin.

Greensmith, a past Mk1 MX-5 and Porsche cham­pion, made the strong­est start to the wet first race pulling clear of his pur­suers, who could only match his pace in the sec­ond half of the race. Cham­pi­onship leader Tom Roche was sec­ond, hold­ing off Liam Mur­phy.

James Blake-bald­win led most of a fre­netic sec­ond race that at times fea­tured a nine-car lead pack. His vic­tory put his points tally ahead of Roche, who was shuf­fled back to sixth on the fi­nal lap. Greensmith had the most dra­matic race, how­ever, slip­ping to 16th at the end of lap one. “I ran out of room at the chi­cane and these Maz­das don’t like sausage kerbs,” he said, hav­ing stormed back to lead briefly, even­tu­ally fin­ish­ing third be­hind Jack Hard­ing.

Roche con­tin­ued his in­ex­orable march to an­other Mk1 MX-5 crown, tak­ing wins 11 and 12 of the sea­son. Michael Fisk ran him close in race one. In race two it took a few laps for Roche to re­claim the lead af­ter Fisk got ahead at the start. Brian Trott was sec­ond.


The Au­gust Bank Hol­i­day meet­ing at Cas­tle Combe was over­shad­owed by re­peated race stop­pages and dra­matic ac­ci­dents, across an ul­ti­mately cur­tailed pro­gramme.

The Combe For­mula Ford Cham­pi­onship pro­duced a pair of tu­mul­tuous en­coun­ters. Race one was ini­tially led by Michael Moy­ers, be­fore Ben Nor­ton usurped him. Be­hind it was cham­pi­onship leader Roger Orgee mak­ing key moves and by the end of lap two he had leapfrogged Felix Fisher to run third be­hind his ti­tle ri­val. The dic­ing was then suspended af­ter a mas­sive ac­ci­dent de­stroyed Hugh Robert­son’s Swift, although Robert­son him­self suf­fered only mi­nor in­juries.

At the re­sump­tion of action, Moy­ers snatched the lead from Nor­ton only to lose it al­most in­stan­ta­neously as Nor­ton fought back at Tower cor­ner. Orgee then took his op­por­tu­nity and stole sec­ond from his ti­tle ri­val at Quarry. The trio pulled away but the or­der re­mained the same to the che­quered flag.

They re­sumed their dice in the sec­ond race, which fea­tured a breath­tak­ing move by Moy­ers around the out­side of Camp to steal the lead with two laps re­main­ing. Ul­ti­mately Orgee would usurp his ti­tle ri­val once more, on this oc­ca­sion to claim vic­tory.

A dra­matic open­ing MSA Bri­tish Su­perkart race fea­tured two red-flag pe­ri­ods. A con­fused rolling-start in­volved the lead­ers en­ter­ing com­bat de­spite the of­fi­cials de­cid­ing to leave the red-lights on with cars out of po­si­tion. The race lasted a fur­ther seven laps be­fore Luke Plain was in­volved in a high-speed ac­ci­dent. Plain was taken to hospi­tal as a pre­cau­tion and se­ries leader Jack Lay­ton was de­clared the win­ner.

Lay­ton was able to re­cover from a poor start to the sec­ond race and add an­other vic­tory to his week­end tally. How­ever, his suc­cess was over­shad­owed by an ac­ci­dent in­volv­ing Roy Ben­nett that re­quired an­other red-flag and the de­ploy­ment of the air am­bu­lance. Fur­ther up­dates were un­avail­able as MN went to press.

Both the Cas­tle Combe GT Cham­pi­onship and Cas­tle Combe Sports Se­ries had their ini­tial races red-flagged fol­low­ing dra­matic early shunts. A multi-car ac­ci­dent in the for­mer took out cham­pi­onship leader Barry Squibb, along with Oliver Bull and Kevin Bird. On the res­tart David Krayem claimed the hon­ours in his Ginetta G50, with Chris South­cott’s MG Midget win­ning race two.

Nor­man Lack­ford found him­self into the Folly bar­ri­ers at the start of the Sports Se­ries race, and on the res­tart Josh Smith charged away from the field to win but the sec­ond race was canned due to the mul­ti­ple de­lays through­out the day.

Simon Thorn­ton-nor­ris claimed the open­ing Sa­loon Cham­pi­onship race but Gary Preb­ble de­nied him a dou­ble in the sec­ond. How­ever, fol­low­ing Will di Clau­dio’s late re­tire­ment from race two, Thorn­ton-nor­ris now has one hand on the ti­tle with a sin­gle race re­main­ing.

The Bri­tish Su­perkart UK Cup fea­tured a much-re­duced grid af­ter mul­ti­ple driv­ers with­drew fol­low­ing the ac­ci­dents that marred the Cham­pi­onship races. Jack Lay­ton took his third win of the day to claim the pres­ti­gious ‘O’ plate.

A dou­ble pole-po­si­tion in the Fer­rari For­mula Clas­sic was con­verted into a dou­ble vic­tory by Gary Cul­ver.

1 Ben Nor­ton (Spec­trum 10B); 2 Roger Orgee (Van Diemen RF00) +0.213s; 3 Michael Moy­ers (Spec­trum 011C); 4 Josh Fisher (Van Diemen JL14); 5 Nathan Ward (Spec­trum 011C); 6 Ed­ward Moore (Van Diemen JL013K). Class win­ners Richard Hig­gins (Van Diemen RF90); David Cob­bold (Van Diemen RF89); Simon Davey (Van Diemen RF80). Fastest lap Orgee 1m10.471s (94.50mph). Pole Moy­ers. Starters 29.

1 Orgee; 2 Moy­ers +0.126s; 3 J Fisher; 4 Nor­ton; 5 Felix Fisher (Van Diemen VD02); 6 Ward. CW David Vi­vian (Swift SC92); Cob­bold; Davey. FL Ward 1m10.391s (94.61mph). P Moy­ers. S 29.

1 Jack Lay­ton (An­der­son/ DEA); 2 Gavin Ben­nett (An­der­son/ DEA) +4.829s; 3 Ross Allen (Jade/ DEA); 4 Gareth James (An­der­son/ DEA); 5 Andy Bird (Raider/ Red­speed Gas Gas); 6 James Has­sall (Jade/ DEA). CW Stephen Clark (An­der­son/ KTM 450). FL Lay­ton 1m05.260s (102.05mph). P Lay­ton. S 32. 1 Lay­ton; 2 Bird +0.922s; 3 James; 4 Ben­nett; 5 James O’reilly (PVP/ Viper SK250S); 6 An­drew Gul­li­ford (An­der­son/ KTM 450). CW Gul­li­ford. FL Clark 1m06.079s (100.78mph). P Lay­ton. S 32.

1 Josh Smith (Rad­i­cal PR6); 2 Mark Ni­chol­son (Rad­i­cal SR3RS) +59.391s; 3 Richard Fearns (Rad­i­cal SR8); 4 Robert Gill­man (Rad­i­cal Prosport); 5 Chris Child (Rad­i­cal Prosport); 6 Neil Har­ris (Neme­sis Pro­to­type). CW Fearns; Child. FL Smith 1m02.516s (106.53mph). P Smith. S 9. Race two can­celled.

1 Simon Thorn­ton-nor­ris (Mit­subishi Colt Ral­liart); 2 Dave Scara­manga (VW Scirocco) +0.350s; 3 Gary Preb­ble (SEAT Leon Cupra); 4 Mark Wy­att (Vaux­hall Astra); 5 Geoffrey Ryall (Peu­geot 106); 6 John Barnard (Vaux­hall Astra VXR). CW Scara­manga; Ryall; Rus­sell Humphrey (Vaux­hall Corsa). FL Scara­manga 1m14.714s (89.14mph). P Thorn­tonNor­ris. S 36. 1 Preb­ble; 2 Thorn­ton-nor­ris +0.307s; 3 Wy­att; 4 Barnard; 5 Ryall; 6 Haydn King (Peu­geot 106 GTI). CW Thorn­ton-nor­ris; Ryall; Humphrey. FL Thorn­tonNor­ris 1m14.774s (89.06mph). P Thorn­ton-nor­ris. S 36.

1 Jack Lay­ton (An­der­son/ DEA); 2 Andy Bird (Raider/ Red­speed Gas Gas) +0.194s; 3 Ross Allen (Jade/ DEA); 4 Gareth James (An­der­son/ DEA); 5 Andy Waite (An­der­son/ KTM 450); 6 Tom Hat­field (An­der­son/ DEA). CW Waite. FL Lay­ton 1m05.647s (101.45mph). P Lay­ton. S 15.


Skoda Fabia R5 Skoda Fabia R5 Skoda Fabia R5 Skoda Fabia R5 Skoda Fabia R5 Ford Fi­esta R5 Ford Fi­esta R5 Skoda Fabia R5 Skoda Fabia S2000 Ford Fi­esta R5

MX-5 racer put in a storm­ing re­cov­ery Mur­ray claimed FF1600 ti­tle

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.