Porsche takes win in event­ful Mex­i­can race

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

Reign­ing World En­durance cham­pi­ons Mark Web­ber, Timo Bern­hard and Bren­don Hart­ley took vic­tory in Mex­ico last week­end in a rain-in­ter­rupted race that fea­tured de­lays for all six fac­tory LMP1 cars.

The Porsche crew led for much of the race but briefly lost the lead at two-thirds dis­tance af­ter cross­ing the white line ex­it­ing the pits and be­ing given a driv­ethrough penalty. Bern­hard then glanced the wall late on but was still able to tri­umph.

Hart­ley said: “I al­ways said that it would be tight and who­ever ex­e­cuted the race best would be on the top step – and that’s what hap­pened.”

An­dre Lot­terer and Mar­cel Fassler’s Audi even­tu­ally took sec­ond de­spite a brake is­sue when putting the lead­ing Porsche un­der pres­sure.

The sis­ter Audi of Lu­cas di Grassi, Loic Du­val and Oliver Jarvis led ini­tially but Jarvis went off when a front wheel bear­ing failed, mean­ing the Toy­ota of Ka­mui Kobayashi, Mike Con­way and Stephane Sar­razin took third place at the flag de­spite a driv­ethrough for avoid­able con­tact.

Rene Rast, Alex Brun­dle and Ro­man Rusi­nov were on course for LMP2 vic­tory un­til a brake fail­ure sent the G-drive car into the pits with 35 min­utes re­main­ing. This meant the RGR Ligier of Filipe Albuquerque, Bruno Senna and Ri­cardo Gon­za­lez tri­umphed.

The As­ton Martin of Darren Turner and Richie Stan­away took the GTE Pro hon­ours, while GTE Am went to the Porsche of Pa­trick Long, Khaled Al Qubaisi and David Heine­meier Hans­son.

A driv­ethrough penalty didn’t stop Porsche trio from win­ning

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.