Motor Sport News - - Rac­ing Re­ports -

Guy Fas­tres and Con­nor Mills shared the spoils on Satur­day’s trio of soggy Le­gends races at Snet­ter­ton.

Bel­gian pole­sit­ter Fas­tres man­aged the wet weather to claim his first win of the sea­son in the opener by 9.753 sec­onds in a car he de­scribed as “per­fect”.

Stephen White­legg tried to chal­lenge for the lead early on but a mo­ment at Brun­dle and Nel­son meant he couldn’t keep up, which al­lowed Jack Parker and Con­nor Mills to pass for the two re­main­ing podium spots.

Fas­tres fol­lowed up the vic­tory with a charge from 16th to third in race two, but it was Mills who was most de­lighted with a first win since the Pem­brey event in April. He then went on to take a sec­ond vic­tory in race three thanks to an as­ton­ish­ing open­ing lap that took him from 13th to first. “It just shows what we can do, es­pe­cially if it’s rain­ing,” he added.

The clouds parted on Sun­day for a Stephen White­legg vic­tory, hold­ing off the bump­draft­ing pair of Mills and John Mickel, the lat­ter nurs­ing a late oil leak.

The ti­tle leader re­paired the leak in time for wins in races five and six, thanks to two trade­mark storm­ing starts – in­clud­ing 11th to first in a lap and a half in race five. Parker made steady progress up to sec­ond, and looked like he would chal­lenge for the lead, but ended up squab­bling with Fas­tres for the sec­ond step of the podium – a duel that ul­ti­mately ended in favour of the Bel­gian.

The first two Bri­tish Truck Rac­ing Cham­pi­onship races were stop-start af­fairs in greasy con­di­tions. A spin for Michael Oliver on the exit of Wil­son in race one brought the red flags out, leav­ing a two-lap dash to the che­quered flag when rac­ing re­sumed. Ryan Smith emerged first, fresh from his win in the Euro­pean se­ries at Most in the Czech Re­pub­lic, also pick­ing up the race three win­ner’s tro­phy. Smith was tagged on the first lap of race two along with Michael Oliver at Agos­tini to cause a restart, but the big­gest heartache was for Oly Janes who was de­nied a maiden win by an in­jec­tor is­sue which forced him to pit from a 10s lead. That gifted David Jenk­ins the vic­tory af­ter a tor­rid Satur­day. Shane Br­ere­ton tasted the race four cham­pagne, while a first 2016 win for Si­mon Reid was dashed by a gear­box fail­ure on the Bent­ley Straight, leav­ing Stuart Oliver to claw a hand­ful of points back in the ti­tle hunt with the race five sil­ver­ware.

Shayne Dee­gan wrapped up the Mini Miglia ti­tle with a pair of wins, cross­ing the line a breath­tak­ing 43.998s ahead of James Coul­son in sec­ond place, be­fore con­firm­ing the brace in race two. “What a way to sign off,” the 21-year-old beamed af­ter­wards. Ash­ley Davies goes into the Se7ens fi­nale at Zand­voort with one hand on the ti­tle af­ter a race one class win, with Kieren Mcdon­ald tak­ing the sec­ond.

Clas­sic Thun­der, Pre-’03 and Clas­sic VW Tour­ing Cars were headed by the Thun­der’s Subarus. Vaughan Fletcher won the first race, but with one more lap Dale Gent may have taken it for him­self. A spin at half­way at Og­gies for Gent re­mark­ably didn’t cost him his sec­ond place, and af­ter that lapped be­tween 1.3s and 2s per lap quicker than Fletcher, bring­ing the lead down from 4.7s to just 0.2s at the flag. Gent made quicker work on Sun­day, pass­ing Fletcher for the lead at Og­gies be­fore Fletcher spun at Wil­liams, the race one win­ner even­tu­ally cross­ing the line fourth.

In the Pre-’66 and Pre-’83 races, Stephen Primett got bogged down at the start in his Ford Es­cort, hand­ing Ted Pear­son the win, be­fore Pear­son did it again in race two. Phil Manser claimed both Pre-’66 class hon­ours.

Kenny Coleman eased his Ford Capri to vic­tory from the front row in a trun­cated first Pre-’93, Pre-’05 and BOSS race, short­ened as a re­sult of Brian Long stop­ping at Wil­son and caus­ing a red flag just over a minute from the end. Ray West was the week­end’s other win­ner.

Newly crowned Class B cham­pion Oliver Tay­lor made the step up to the A1 class in the Kumho BMW Cham­pi­onship fin­ish­ing sec­ond be­hind James Macin­tyre-ure. The pair were in a class of their own, fin­ish­ing more than 28s ahead of third-placed Ian Hill.

Macin­tyre-ure tried to make it two from two, but Lee Spencer used his E36’s su­pe­rior straight­line speed to pass on the Bent­ley Straight a lap and a half from home.

The 2013 Luna Lo­gis­tics Clas­sic For­mula Ford cham­pion Adri­ano Medeiros pulled off the seem­ingly im­pos­si­ble when he scored two wins by 1m12.143s and 42.213s, lap­ping more than 6s per lap quicker than his ri­vals.

David Mel­lor and Adrian Wray shared the MG Own­ers’ Cham­pi­onship spoils to keep the ti­tle fight alive head­ing to Sil­ver­stone.

Mills did dou­ble at damp Snett

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.