Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

Three Cater­ham ti­tles were de­cided last week­end, with close rac­ing through­out.

Back-to-back wins gave Aaron Head the premier Su­perlight R300-S crown. He was handed a respite in the first race, as a poor start due to drive­shaft prob­lems went un­pun­ished thanks to a red flag.

Leav­ing it late, Head swept through the field, even­tu­ally pass­ing podium fin­ish­ers Jack Sales and Lee Wig­gins for the win.

The win meant he only needed to fin­ish 16th or higher in the fi­nale, but he still made it two wins from two. An ex­cel­lent safety car restart helped his path from third to vic­tory, pass­ing Stephen Nut­tall and Wig­gins late on.

An­thony Barnes won the Track­sport Cham­pi­onship, with a brace of sec­ond places enough to take the ti­tle. He was kept off the top step of the podium by a su­perb de­fen­sive display from pole­sit­ter Alis­tair Calvert.

At the start, Barnes rose from third to chal­lenge Calvert, cre­at­ing a long bat­tle that ended side-by-side at Bar­croft with Calvert edg­ing ahead to win. Sec­ond place would vir­tu­ally seal the ti­tle for Barnes, but he ad­mit­ted af­ter­wards that he “couldn’t re­sist” an­other go at Calvert. Their bat­tles in both races meant lonely thirds for Damian Milkins and Daniel Brem­ner re­spec­tively.

The third Cater­ham cham­pion was Wil­liam Smith in the Su­per­sports, with a win and a fourth enough to seal the ti­tle.

Race two win­ner Ben Tuck was his ri­val through­out the week­end, hound­ing Smith all the way to the end of race one. Smith’s vic­tory started with re­cov­ery from a poor start as he fell to third from pole, be­fore even­tu­ally best­ing Tuck de­spite his stub­born­ness to yield. Those bat­tles meant Jack Brown was a lonely third twice.

In the Cater­ham Road­sports, Russ Oli­vant stormed to two wins that all but sealed his ti­tle ahead of the sea­son fi­nale. In both races he beat Guy Hawkins, with Alan Cooper and Daniel Quin­tero shar­ing the two third po­si­tions.

The Cater­ham Academy cham­pi­onship con­tenders con­tin­ued their learn­ing curve, with the split grids pro­duc­ing Jay Mccor­mack and Steven Tozer as the win­ners.

The For­mula Ford 1600 Cham­pi­onship Post-’89 ti­tle was de­cided last time out, but it didn’t stop cham­pion Niall Mur­ray from tak­ing a brace of wins in his Van Diemen.

Chase Owen came clos­est to beat­ing Mur­ray, with the Amer­i­can pip­ping him to the lead at the start of the first race. A drive-through penalty for a sup­posed prac­tice start un­der the green flag sent him down the or­der, leav­ing Mur­ray to a com­fort­able win ahead of Gra­ham Car­roll and David Mcarthur.

Mur­ray made it two from two in the sec­ond race with Car­roll and Mcarthur swap­ping places on the podium. Ben Tin­ker took two class vic­to­ries in a com­bined grid Pre-90s class.

The eclec­tic grid of the North­ern Sa­loon and Sportscar Cham­pi­onship had wins for Jeff Wil­son and An­drew Mor­ri­son, but the real story was all about ti­tle pro­tag­o­nists Martin Whitehouse and Matthew Kirby. Level on points in the fi­nal race, each hav­ing recorded the same num­ber of vic­to­ries, the fi­nale was a heart­breaker for Kirby as he re­tired on the last lap, los­ing the ti­tle on dropped points to Whitehouse.

Jeff Cooper won both Honda VTEC and 4Two Cup races, with Peter Dixon, Robert Burkin­shaw and Paul Donkin all scor­ing podi­ums. Alan Palmer and David Nash shared Smart­car vic­to­ries.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.