Four young Bri­tons to con­test for revamped 2016 MABA prize

Motor Sport News - - Racing News - Pho­tos: LA By Kevin Turner

Ricky Collard, Sen­nan Field­ing, Lando Nor­ris and Toby Sow­ery have been se­lected as the 2016 Mclaren Au­tosport BRDC Award fi­nal­ists.

The Award aims to sup­port up-and­com­ing Bri­tish rac­ing tal­ent and for­mer win­ners in­clude 2009 For­mula 1 world cham­pion Jen­son But­ton, 2014 World En­durance cham­pion An­thony David­son and three-time Indy 500 win­ner Dario Fran­chitti.

This year, the win­ner will be of­fered a Mclaren sim­u­la­tor role in 2017, as well as a Mclaren F1 test, full Bri­tish Rac­ing Driv­ers’ Club mem­ber­ship and an Arai GP-6 RC car­bon crash hel­met.

Collard and Sow­ery both won five races in BRDC Bri­tish F3 this sea­son, with Car­lin and Lanan re­spec­tively, while Field­ing be­came Bri­tish F4 cham­pion with JHR at Brands Hatch last week­end. Nor­ris took the For­mula Re­nault Eurocup and NEC crowns with Josef Kauf­mann Rac­ing, won the Toy­ota Rac­ing Se­ries in New Zealand with M2, and was a race win­ner with Car­lin on spo­radic BRDC Bri­tish F3 out­ings.

All four will face fit­ness and sim­u­la­tor as­sess­ments by Mclaren, as well as a two­day Sil­ver­stone test driv­ing For­mula 2, DTM Mercedes and Mclaren GT3 cars.

EX-F1 driver and BRDC pres­i­dent Derek Warwick chairs the judg­ing panel, which also in­cludes two-time Bri­tish Tour­ing Car cham­pion Ja­son Plato, Mclaren’s An­drew Kirkaldy and Mark Wil­liams, lead­ing cir­cuit com­men­ta­tor Ian Titch­marsh, Au­tosport ed­i­tor Kevin Turner and Au­tosport fea­tures ed­i­tor Scott Mitchell. Le Mans win­ner David Brab­ham will be this year’s guest judge. The win­ner will be an­nounced at the Au­tosport Awards on De­cem­ber 4.

George Rus­sell won award in 2014

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.