Team USA Schol­ar­ship driv­ers an­nounced

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

The Team USA Schol­ar­ship driv­ers for the For­mula Ford Fes­ti­val and Wal­ter Hayes Tro­phy in October and Novem­ber re­spec­tively have been cho­sen.

Oliver Askew, 19, and Kyle Kirk­wood, 17, will drive Cliff Dempsey Rac­ing Ray GR15S in the blue riband For­mula Ford events.

The pair­ing were cho­sen af­ter a six-driver shootout at Palm Beach In­ter­na­tional Race­way, by a panel which in­cluded 2003 In­di­anapo­lis 500 win­ner Gil de Fer­ran.

“I am ec­static and greatly hon­oured,” said Kirk­wood, a fron­trun­ner in the in­au­gu­ral F4 US se­ries with Primus Rac­ing. “To be able to rep­re­sent the USA is a feel­ing no words can de­scribe.”

Askew added: “Kyle and I have been very close friends for over 10 years. We have been team-mates in the kart­ing ranks for many of those years, so we will keep work­ing to­gether to bring home great re­sults.”

Bryan Herta, Josef New­gar­den and Jimmy Vasser are for­mer Team USA Schol­ar­ship win­ners.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.