Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

lovely,” en­thused Richard atop the podium. Rus­sell and Woods joined him, al­though Fowler was re­stored to third on count­back af­ter a red flag, cov­er­ing mar­shals push­ing Jol­liffe’s stalled car to safety. This re­prieved Kings­land, who was clas­si­fied fifth ahead of Wright af­ter a com­mit­ted drive from the back.

Peter De la Roche stormed clear of Pete Mor­ton’s grip­less Light­ning En­voyette in the For­mula Ju­nior race, pur­sued ini­tially by An­drew Wilkin­son’s Lynx. Nick Fin­burgh (En­voy) made a dread­ful start, drop­ping from sixth to ninth on lap one, but re­cov­ered rapidly. Hav­ing ousted Wilkin­son, Fin­burgh and Nick Tay­lor (ELVA-BMC 100) fought a feisty duel. Tay­lor’s bold dive into the fi­nal cor­ner snatched a re­mark­able third in his front-en­gined ma­chine. Ti­tle pro­tag­o­nists Jonathan Fyda (U2 Mk3) and Chris Al­ford (Elva 200) both fin­ished the penul­ti­mate round third in class.

Ex­pect­ing rain, an un­com­fort­able prospect in Jose Fer­nan­dez’s su­per­charged Alta, Sam Stret­ton scarpered in the Vin­tage Sports-car opener, win­ning from Mark Gil­lies (As­ton Martin) who had shrugged off An­drew Mitchell’s ag­ile HRG. Top qual­i­fier by a coun­try mile in a heavy shower, Patrick Blak­eney-ed­wards would have loved wet­ter con­di­tions but set­tled for a close-up fourth in his Frazer Nash ‘Owlet.’

On­look­ers were obliv­i­ous from Healey Driver In­ter­na­tional pole­man Jack Rawles’ progress that he had not raced a 3000 in the wet be­fore. The Hamp­shire lad won both legs, beat­ing broth­ers Jack and Oliver Chatham who up­held their dy­nasty’s hon­our, em­u­lat­ing fa­ther John’s fa­bled con­trol in their shared car. David Grace “showed the testos­teronecharged young­sters how to start,” burst­ing be­tween them as the Union flag dropped in the fi­nale, but third was the best the mul­ti­ple race win­ner could hope for.

The four cylin­der 100 class was equally hard-fought. Jonathan Abe­cas­sis beat spin­ner Nick Matthews in the opener, then gy­rated him­self in race two, while bat­tling with Richard Woolmer (in Jeremy Holden’s car) and Matthews. Woolmer pipped Matthews to the post.

De­spite a grassy mo­ment at Camp in the for­mer, Steve Boult­bee Brooks re­peated 2015’s FISCAR and Jon Gross Me­mo­rial As­ton Martin wins in his glo­ri­ous Kangaroo Sta­ble DB3S. Twirling the tiller with aban­don, Steve beat Matthews’ welldriven Healey and Kevin Zwolin­ski’s pen­du­lous Jaguar XK140 in the en­duro, which boasted the day’s largest grid. Nick Rud­dell (DB2) was his clos­est ri­val in the mar­que race in which third-placed Mark Gil­lies (Mono­posto Speed Model) again won the pre-war set’s Mort Mor­risGoodall Tro­phy.

Dis­grun­tled at be­ing held in the pits for a minute dur­ing the FISCAR race, which he be­lieved was his, Zwolin­ski re­turnedto win the Nor­man Dewis Tro­phy Jaguar race which the le­gendary test driver, now 96, en­joyed. Af­ter a great bat­tle with the Mk1 sa­loons, all tails wag­ging at seem­ingly ir­re­triev­able an­gles, Zwolin­ski was re­lieved to land his first win over Richard But­ter­field, whose ri­val Roger Cope faded when he flicked his fuel pump off.

In in­creas­ing rain, Peter Crewes built a 40 sec­ond lead in the HRDC Pre-’66 Sa­loon Car race, with fel­low Mini Cooper S men Richard Dor­lin and Paul Inch in pur­suit. A five-lap safety car pe­riod, af­ter Richard Fores went off in David Alexan­der’s Alfa Romeo Sprint GT at Old Paddock, un­did both Crewes’ lead and his as­pi­ra­tions for his car’s electrics drowned leav­ing Quarry hand­ing James Dor­lin (in for Richard) vic­tory over Inch and John Spiers (Lo­tus Cortina). The Terry Sanger Me­mo­rial Tro­phy was Crewes’ con­so­la­tion. Gavin Wat­son, fourth in his 1961 Alfa Gi­uli­etta Ti, was the af­ter­noon’s un­her­alded hero.

1 Richard De la Roche (Cooper-jap MKV); 2 Gor­don Rus­sell (Mack­sonNor­ton) +5.763s; 3 Mike Fowler (Cooper-nor­ton MKV); 4 Dar­rell Woods (Cooper-nor­ton Mk12); 5 David Kings­land (Staride-nor­ton Mk3); 6 Stu­art Wright (Cooper-jap MKXI). Class win­ners Woods; JB Jones (Jlr-tri­umph). Fastest lap De la Roche 1m32.506s (71.99mph). Pole Brian Jol­liffe (Cooper-jap MKVIII). Starters 20.

1 Peter De la Roche (BMC Mk2); 2 Pete Mor­ton (Light­ning En­voyette) +24.294s; 3 Nick Tay­lor (Elva 100); 4 Nick Fin­burgh (En­voy Mk1); 5 An­drew Wilkin­son (Lynx T3); 6 An­drew Tay­lor (Cooper T56. CW Mor­ton; Tay­lor; Fin­burgh; Gre­gan Thrus­ton (Lo­tus 20). FL De la Roche 1m33.831s (70.97mph). P De la Roche. S 17.

1 Sam Stret­ton (Alta Sports); 2 Mark Gil­lies (As­ton Martin Mono­posto Speed Model) +23.280s; 3 An­drew Mitchell (HRG 1½-litre); 4 Patrick Blak­eney-ed­wards (Frazer Nash ‘Owlet’); 5 Mark Brett (Bal­lamy Ford V8 Spe­cial); 6 David Lewis (Alvis Fire­bird Spe­cial). CW Gil­lies; Brett; Si­mon Ed­wards (Mor­gan Su­per Aero). FL Stret­ton 1m30.920s (73.25mph). P Blak­eney-ed­wards. S 18.

1 Jack Rawles (3000); 2 Jack Chatham (3000) +1.509s; 3 David Grace (3000); 4 Ju­lian Bron­son (3000); 5 Jonathan Abe­cas­sis (100); 6 Nick Matthews (100). CW Abe­cas­sis; John Tew­son (Sprite). FL Chatham 1m21.880s (81.33mph). P Rawles. S 15. Woolmer; Tew­son. FL Rawles 1m35.242s (69.92mph). P Rawles. S 13.

1 Steve Boult­bee Brooks (As­ton Martin DB3S); 2 Nick Matthews (Austin-healey 100) +30.222s; 3 Kevin Zwolin­ski (Jaguar XK140); 4 Ge­off Ot­t­ley (Jaguar XK120); 5 Jonathan Abe­cas­sis/ Richard Woolmer (Austin-healey 100); 6 Patrick Blak­eney-ed­wards/ Martin Hunt (Frazer Nash Le Mans Replica) FL Boult­bee Brooks 1m.35.109s (70.02mph). P Boult­bee Brooks. S 39.

1 Richard and James Dor­lin (Austin Cooper S); 2 Paul Inch (Mini Cooper S) +11.968s; 3 John Spiers (Ford Lo­tus Cortina); 4 Gavin Wat­son (Alfa Romeo Gi­uli­etta Ti); 5 Peter James/ Alan Letts (BMW 1800Ti); 6 Chris Clark­son (Ford Fal­con Sprint). CW Wat­son; Clark­son; Andy Wal­lace/ Nigel Webb (Jaguar Mk2); Bruce Chap­man (Austin A35 Academy); John Yea (Austin A40); Gra­ham & Alas­tair Love (Jaguar Mk7). FL Peter Crews (Austin Cooper S) 1m33.106s (89.16mph). P Dor­lin/ Dor­lin. S 32. 1 Steve Boult­bee Brooks (DB3S); 2 Nicholas Rud­dell (DB2/4) +12.897s; 3 Mark Gil­lies (Mono­posto Speed Model); 4 Chris Woodgate (DB MKIII); 5 Sam Stret­ton (Alta Sports); 6 Brian Ar­cu­lus (Lo­tus IX). Pre-war Gil­lies. Inv Stret­ton. FL Boult­bee Brooks 1m41.127s (65.85mph). P Boult­bee Brooks. S 13.

Richard De la Roche was 500cc F3 vic­tor

Boult­bee Brooks topped FISCAR

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.