Motor Sport News - - Racing Reports -

The ti­tle duel be­tween James Blake-bald­win and Tom Roche was the highlight of the Mazda MX-5 Supercup.

In the first race, six cars bat­tled for the lead, be­fore Roche made a break as Blake-bald­win dropped to fourth.

Blake-bald­win re­cov­ered up to sec­ond, Jonathan Green­smith fol­low­ing him through onto the podium. But there was drama ahead. Roche was the win­ner on the road, but a track lim­its penalty dropped him down to fourth, be­hind Blake-bald­win, Green­smith and Jack Hard­ing.

More drama fol­lowed when Roche was ex­cluded from third in the sec­ond race for an avoid­able col­li­sion, gift­ing Paul O’neill the fi­nal spot on the ros­trum and hand­ing Blake-bald­win the cham­pi­onship ti­tle. Hard­ing took the vic­tory ahead of the new cham­pion.

The race two re­sult was re­peated in race three as Hard­ing topped BlakeBald­win and O’neill.

Mike Jenvey in the Jenvey-gunn had man­aged to hold off Dun­can Wil­liams’s Juno for eight laps in the first OSS race. But as they lapped Richard Fearns’ Rad­i­cal SR8, Jenvey was boxed in and there was con­tact, which left Wil­liams to take the spoils from the re­cov­er­ing Jenvey, with Matt Man­der­son’s Bowlby in a clear third place.

Wil­liams took a dom­i­nant race two win, hav­ing passed Jenvey into Abbey early on. Jenvey fi­nally got a win in race three, hold­ing off a de­ter­mined Wil­liams for the du­ra­tion of the race.

Michael Fisk’s big lead early in the first Mazda MX-5 race was soon eroded when Tom Roche chased him down, hav­ing es­caped an in­ci­dent when Stu­art Sy­monds spun at Stowe and Ali Bray just missed him.

Roche took a lead he wouldn’t lose into Abbey in the clos­ing stages from Fisk. For Roche, the win was enough to take this year’s cham­pi­onship. A track lim­its penalty cost Bray third place, to the ben­e­fit of Oliver All­wood.

Bray over­shot at Vale in race two hand­ing Roche the win, again ahead of Fisk.

Roche ousted Fisk from the race three lead on the in­side of Club early on, but had no an­swer when All­wood got along­side through Vale on the last tour to lead out of Club and snatch vic­tory, with Bald­win close in third place.

Pa­trick Lay won the first B race after Court­ney Milnes went straight on at the Vale on lap 12, while in the sec­ond B race Richard Collins had the edge over Joshua Jack­son. Ali Bray com­fort­ably won the fi­nal B race.

Richard Avery was a dom­i­nant win­ner in the first Porsche race, with Richard Styrin a com­fort­able sec­ond, and Garry Good­win com­pleted the podium. The places were re­versed in race two and it was Styrin who won, from Avery and Nick Hull third after Garry Lawrence went off at Stowe.

Newly crowned cham­pion Styrin led race three from the sec­ond lap, with Lawrence a clear sec­ond after Avery pit­ted.

James Gor­nall was left with a de­ci­sive lead in the first BMW Com­pact race after Steven Dailly hit Joe Wig­gin at Stowe. This pro­moted Ian Jones to sec­ond and Jon Watt third. Wig­gin won race two after tak­ing Gor­nall around the out­side of Stowe on the last lap.

Robert Sayell clinched the For­mula Jedi Cham­pi­onship ti­tle, win­ning race one but was pipped by Lee Mor­gan in race two. Bradley Hob­day and Dan Clowes capped the two podi­ums.

JBB beat Roche (25) to ti­tle

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.