FOWDEN WINS FOR TAR­MAC TI­TLE Robin­son takes plucky Pem­brey win

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Si­mon Gronow Re­sults

Or­gan­iser: Carmarthen Mo­tor Club When: Oc­to­ber 23 Where: Pem­brey Cir­cuit, Car­marthen­shire Cham­pi­onship: Welsh Na­tional Tar­ma­cadam Cham­pi­onship; Ju­nior 1000 Cham­pi­onship; For­mula 1000 Stage Rally Chal­lenge; Gwynnespeed Rally Chal­lenge Stages: 5 Starters: 70

Fol­low­ing a fault­less drive where he was fastest on four of the five stages, Bob Fowden took vic­tory on the Peter Lloyd Ral­ly­ing Stages in his Subaru WRC, re­tain­ing his Welsh Cham­pi­onship crown in the process and giv­ing his co-driver Paul Wakely his first Welsh ti­tle.

In dry con­di­tions, Fowden was quick­est on SS1, seven sec­onds faster than Philip Hop­kins/david Jenk­ins in their Mit­subishi Lancer E6. Fa­ther and son pair­ing Rob and James Tout were third fastest in their E10.

It was a short rally for Phil Turner/ Si­mon An­thony, who re­tired their Lancer E9 with trans­mis­sion is­sues, as Nigel Gib­bard/ Do­rian Jones pulled out with a mis­fire in their Dar­rian GTR.

The longer stage two in­cluded the Beach Road, and Fowden/wakely blew away the op­po­si­tion, set­ting a time 16 sec­onds quicker than any­body else. Tout was se­cond quick­est with Oliver Hop­kins/ian Taylor fol­low­ing in their Lancer E9. Things weren’t so good for Hop­kins’ brother Philip, who re­tired from se­cond place after go­ing off into a ditch, break­ing a drive­shaft on his Mit­subishi.

SS3 was an­other Fowden ben­e­fit, as the Subaru driver took an­other 14s out of his ri­vals, de­spite putting the Subaru on two wheels after clip­ping a tyre. Ian Ken­vin/phil Wil­liams set the se­cond fastest time in their Ford Es­cort Mk2. Third quick­est time en­abled Oliver Hop­kins to move up to se­cond, as Tout made a rare mis­take, his Mit­subishi go­ing off into a bank on the cir­cuit.

After los­ing time be­hind a slower car on stage two, Thomas Cooper/paul Wil­liams made amends on stage four, where they were fastest by a se­cond from Fowden in their Mit­subishi Lancer E8. Ken­vin/wil­liams were third quick­est, one se­cond ahead of Wynne Watkins/ash­ley Trim­ble whose Subaru Im­preza was in-turn one se­cond ahead of their Group N cham­pi­onship ri­vals Hop­kins/taylor.

Fowden re­minded ev­ery­body who was boss, by set­ting an­other fastest time on the fi­nal stage as he and Wakely com­pleted a dom­i­nant per­for­mance. Be­hind the win­ner, it was all change how­ever. Ken­vin flew over the fi­nal test, mov­ing up to se­cond po­si­tion as a re­sult, over­tak­ing Cooper/wil­liams, who were third fastest and se­cured the fi­nal podium spot as a re­sult. The big­gest losers were Hop­kins/ Taylor, who dropped from se­cond to fourth, though im­por­tantly man­aged to keep ahead of ri­vals Watkins/trim­ble, who fin­ished fifth.

On the de­but out­ing of his re­cently ac­quired Dar­rian T90, Richard Mer­ri­man quickly got to grips with his new car after a long lay-off. He and Kath Cur­zon had a day-long bat­tle for class hon­ours with Carl O’grady/tom Wood in their Nis­san Sunny F2, with just one se­cond sep­a­rat­ing the pair be­fore the fi­nal test. Ul­ti­mately, it was Mer­ri­man who took the cat­e­gory lau­rels, beat­ing his ri­val by eight sec­onds at the end.

Rhys Wyn Davies/dy­lan James over­came gear­box prob­lems to win the 1400cc class in their Vaux­hall, with fel­low Nova crew Matthew Cur­zon/steve Hop­kins tak­ing the 1600cc hon­ours.

Llyr Jones/sion Jones won their class as Chris Jones/dar­ren Jones se­cured the road rally class in an­other Ford Es­cort.

In the Ju­nior 1000 cat­e­gory, Josh and Tommy Mcer­lean won fol­low­ing a class bat­tle with Tommi Mead­ows/gareth Hooper. Zak Hughes did his cham­pi­onship hopes no good, rolling his Citroen C1 into re­tire­ment on the first stage.

Peter Lloyd Ral­ly­ing Stages Fowden and Wakely took the vic­tory

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.