Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - Ian Mills

The Volk­swa­gen Golf GTI of Dale Fur­niss/ Michael Gil­bey took a nar­row vic­tory over peren­nial brides­maids Mark Len­nox/ian Bea­mond (Ford Es­cort) on the Peak Revs Rally – the two crews sep­a­rated by just three sec­onds at the fin­ish.

Gary Roberts/ Dar­ren Ikin were fastest on two of the three ‘drop­pers’ but lost 30 sec­onds on the third – enough to put them in fifth place at the fin­ish.

Fallen leaves and mud made the lanes treach­er­ous with con­di­tions made worse by tor­ren­tial rain, which fell through­out the night. De­spite this, only four cars failed to make it to the fin­ish.

Sim­i­lar con­di­tions af­fected the Dans­port Rally, where Guy Robin­son/max Free­man (Subaru Im­preza) dom­i­nated. The Peu­geot 306 of Andy Smith/carl Wil­liamson had chal­lenged at one point – in­deed, the pair led for some of the rally – but was more than a minute down by the end.

Re­sults Peak Revs Road Rally Or­gan­iser: Lud­low Cas­tle Mo­tor Club When: Novem­ber 19/20 Where: Shrop­shire Cham­pi­onships: AWMMC Route: 120 miles

Starters: 40. 1 Dale Fur­niss/ Michael Gil­bey (VW Golf GTI) 3m35s; 2 Mark Len­nox/ Ian Bea­mond (Ford Es­cort) +00m04s; 3 Cadog Davies/ Reian Jones (Pro­ton Sa­tria); 4 Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/ Gwawr Hughes (Golf GTI); 5 Gary Roberts/ Dar­ren Ikin (Peu­geot 205); 6 Matt Barker/

John Con­nor (Peu­geot 206 GTI); 7 Craig Judd/ Martin Phasey (Peu­geot 306 GTI-6); 8 Matty Jones/ Osian Davies (Vaux­hall Astra); 9 Chris Hand/ Mark Rod­way (Es­cort); 10 Richard Wil­liams/ David Price (Ford Sierra).

Class win­ners Jamie Crump/james Dow­ley (Es­cort); Luke Box/ Shane Cairns (Subaru Im­preza). Dans­port Road Rally

Or­gan­iser: Mat­lock Mo­tor Club When: Novem­ber 19/20 Where: Der­byshire

Cham­pi­onships: EMAMC, ANEMMC, ANCC & ANWCC Route: 140 miles Starters: 49. 1 Guy Robin­son/ Max Free­man (Im­preza) 10m11s; 2 Andy Smith/ Carl Wil­liamson (306) +1m13s; 3 Owen Turner/ Bob Blows (MG ZR); 4 David Lead­bet­ter/ Cath Wood­man (BMW 318Ti); 5 Jon Bossen/ Shaun Hughes (Es­cort); 6 Al­lan Storer/tom Fenton (Sa­tria); 7 Stan Feather­stone/ Sam Spencer (205 GTI); 8 Rob Yates/alan Og­den (Peu­geot 106 Ral­lye); 9 Adrian Green/ Ian Gib­bins (Sa­tria); 10 Be­van Blacker/ Nial Frost (106). Classes Paul Dyer/ Dave Ain­cham (Nis­san Almera GTI); Charles Cor­don/ Kevin Bar­don (Pro­ton Coupe).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.