Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

Audi has an­nounced LMP1 racer Loic Du­val and GT driver Rene Rast will join its DTM line-up for next sea­son. The duo will be part­nered by Mat­tias Ek­strom, Jamie Green, Mike Rock­en­feller and Nico Muller in 2017, while the new six-car limit per man­u­fac­turer means Miguel Molina and Adrien Tam­bay will no longer race for Audi. Edoardo Mor­tara had al­ready been con­firmed as switch­ing to Mercedes, while Timo Schei­der an­nounced his re­tire­ment ear­lier in the year. BMW will field an un­changed line-up of cham­pion Marco Wittmann, Bruno Spen­gler, Au­gusto Far­fus, Timo Glock, Tom Blomqvist and Maxime Martin… Out­go­ing Audi driver Lau­rens Vanthoor claimed the in­au­gu­ral In­ter­con­ti­nen­tal GT Chal­lenge ti­tle af­ter tak­ing a sec­ond suc­ces­sive vic­tory in the Sepang 12 Hours. The Phoenix Audi R8 LMS driver started sixth, but along with team-mates Christo­pher Haase and Robin Fri­jns, shot into the lead to­wards mid-dis­tance when they were among the first to pit af­ter the first out­break of rain be­gan. The trio never looked back af­ter that, de­spite tor­ren­tial rain at times, even­tu­ally beat­ing the Porsche 911 GT3R of Earl Bam­ber, Nick Tandy and Pa­trick Pilet by a lap… The For­mula V8 3.5 cat­e­gory will add the ‘World Se­ries’ ti­tle to its name next sea­son as part of its re­vamp for 2017. It had al­ready been an­nounced as a sup­port se­ries of the World En­durance Cham­pi­onship for six rounds…

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.