Sig­na­tures handed in to Prime Min­is­ter

Motor Sport News - - Sporting Scene - By Matt James Photos: LAT and Hal Ridge

Cam­paign­ers fight­ing to keep Wim­ble­don Sta­dium open took their pleas to Down­ing Street last week.

The group, lead by Michael Bur­nage and in­clud­ing Mo­tor­sport News’s Na­tional Hot Rod cor­re­spon­dent Gra­ham Brown, went to Num­ber 10 on Fri­day to hand over the pe­ti­tion against the de­mo­li­tion of the venue. The pe­ti­tion has been signed by than 13600 peo­ple.

Wim­ble­don has hosted short oval rac­ing since 1962, but de­vel­op­ers are plan­ning to de­mol­ish the track and build an 11000 all-seater foot­ball sta­dium on the site for AFC Wim­ble­don. There are also plans for a business com­plex on the venue.

Ini­tially, the plans were called in by then-lon­don Mayor Boris John­son for fur­ther ex­am­i­na­tion, but that was scup­pered when new mayor Sadiq Khan was elected in May.

“Since we be­came aware of the ex­tent of the plans for the sta­dium and the sur­round­ing site, we have been bat­tling re­lent­lessly to pro­tect what we have,” said Bur­nage. “Over the past year, we have ap­proached the task with a level of de­ter­mi­na­tion that we don’t think our op­po­nents ever thought we could muster.”

Bur­nage said he hoped that the chance to hand in the pe­ti­tion at the high­est level would mean that the case will be ex­am­ined once more.

“The pe­ti­tion can now be re­viewed by Prime Min­is­ter Theresa May,” ex­plained Bur­nage. “Along­side that, we have an ap­peal to have the build­ing listed, and that is still be­ing con­sid­ered by the Depart­ment of Cul­ture, Me­dia and Sport.”

1 Billy Wood; 2 Chris Haird; 3 Rob Mcdon­ald

■ Round two, Birm­ing­ham, Au­gust 20

Fi­nal: 1 Carl Waller-bar­rett; 2 Haird; 3 Dick Hil­lard

■ Round three, Northamp­ton, Au­gust 29

1 Dave York; 2 Kym Weaver; 3 Gavin Mur­ray

■ Round four, Ipswich, Septem­ber 24

1 Bradley Dynes; 2 Haird; 3 Mur­ray Fi­nal: 1 Aaron Dew; 2 Ja­son Kew; 3 Haird

■ Round six, Ipswich, October 22

Fi­nal: 1 Haird; 2 Adam Maxwell (non-points scorer); 3 Dynes; 4 Mikey God­frey

■ Round seven, Hednesford Hills, Novem­ber 6

Fi­nal: 1 Rob Mcdon­ald; 2 Mur­ray; 3 Dynes

Cam­paign­ers go to the top

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.