Bob Fow­den re­cov­ers from poor start for Pem­brey win Rali Cwm Gwen­draeth

Motor Sport News - - Reports: Galway Rally - By Ian Harden

Or­gan­iser: Gwen­draeth Val­ley Mo­tor Club/amman and Dis­trict Mo­tor Club When: Fe­bru­ary 5 Where: Welsh Mo­tor Sports Cen­tre, Pem­brey Cham­pi­onships: WAMC Tar­ma­cadam, FMP Rally Chal­lenge Starters: 47 Stages: 5

Bob and Paul Fow­den (Subaru Im­preza WRC) suc­cess­fully fought back af­ter prob­lems on the open­ing stage to take the driver’s fourth con­sec­u­tive Rali Cwm Gwen­draeth win.

They beat Ge­off Kit­ney/ken Gib­bard (Mit­subishi Lancer E9) by 59s, with Ian God­ney/jamie Vaughan (Re­nault Clio 182) third.

Overnight frost made the stage sur­face ex­tremely slip­pery early on, but Kit­ney seemed un­trou­bled by the con­di­tions, lead­ing from Wash­ing­ton James/gwyn­for Jones (Dar­rian T90) with God­ney pur­su­ing. Fow­den lay fourth, plagued by a lack of trac­tion.

With grip lev­els im­prov­ing as the event pro­gressed, Fow­den be­gan to dom­i­nate. He set two fastest times to reel in Kit­ney, tak­ing an unas­sail­able lead from stage three. Kit­ney could not re­spond pace-wise and had to set­tle for sec­ond, af­ter a trou­ble-free run.

God­ney’s front-wheel-drive Re­nault Clio pro­vided trac­tion in the dif­fi­cult con­di­tions to hold onto third, 25s ahead of James’s tail-happy Dar­rian. Drive of the day came from road rally spe­cial­ists Wayne Jones/ste­fan Davies (Peu­geot 206), who fin­ished equal sev­enth in the driver’s first-ever stage rally.


1 Bob Fow­den/ Paul Fow­den (Subaru Im­preza WRC) 51m 30s; 2 Ge­off Kit­ney/ Ken Gib­bard (Mit­subishi Lancer E9) +59s; 3 Ian God­ney/jamie Vaughan (Re­nault Clio 182); 4 Wash­ing­ton James/ Gwyn­for Jones (Dar­rian T90); 5 Carl O’grady/ El­lie Wil­liams (Nis­san Sunny F2); 6 Chris Hand/ Do­rian Jones (Ford Es­cort Mk2); 7= Aaron Jones/ Owen Evans (Honda Civic Type R); 7= Wayne Jones/ Ste­fan ‘DR’ Davies (Peu­geot 206); 9 Mal­colm Jones/ Rhys Jones (Peu­geot 206); 10 Vince Davies/jade Phillips (Es­cort Mk2).

Class win­ners Wil­liam Mains/ Sion Jones (Vaux­hall Corsa); Jones/ Evans; God­ney/ Vaughan; Neil Griffiths/ Rhys Stone­man (Es­cort Mk2); Kit­ney/ Gib­bard; Jones/ Davies.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.