Done­gal Har­vest Rally

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - Photos: FIA ERC Photo: KG Rally Pics By Adam Hall

Or­gan­iser: Done­gal Mo­tor Club When: Oc­to­ber 7 Where: Dun­fanaghy, County Done­gal Cham­pi­onship: Sligo Pal­lets Bor­der Rally Cham­pi­onship Stages: 9 Starters 132.

Peadar Hurson set fastest times on all nine stages of the Done­gal Har­vest Rally on his way to win­ning the Creeslough-based event in a right-hand-drive Ford Fi­esta RS WRC.

Hurson’s rally wasn’t all plain sail­ing, how­ever, as an engine mis­fire on the first loop of stages forced him to run the World Rally Car in road-mode for the re­main­ing stages, mean­ing no anti-lag sys­tem.

Hurson led from the start as num­ber one seed, De­clan Boyle, slid his Fi­esta RS WRC off the road on the open­ing sec­tion of the first stage. Joseph Mc­go­nigle was un­able to match the pace of the WRC Fi­esta and fin­ished in sec­ond po­si­tion, a minute be­hind the lead­ers in his Skoda Fabia R5.

Round­ing out the podium was Ryan Loughran who fin­ished as top two-wheel-drive run­ner in his Ford Es­cort Mk2. Kevin Eves had been lead­ing the bat­tle un­til he bent a bot­tom steer­ing arm on his Toy­ota Corolla af­ter clip­ping a rock on SS6, forc­ing him to re­tire from the rally.

Damien Toner’ s Milling ton­pow­ered Ford Es co rtMk 2 charged to fourth over­all and took Class 14 hon­ours af­ter sur­viv­ing a me­chan­i­cal scare on SS1. Toner’s Mk2 was hauled up on its side by his fel­low com­peti­tors as he fixed the car’s dif­fer­en­tial be­fore go­ing into SS2.

A sec­ond-fastest time on SS8 helped Done­gal na­tive Brian Bro­gan charge back to fifth over­all af­ter los­ing time on wrong tyres through the open­ing loop. He headed off peren­nial Group N win­ner Shane Maguire.

Ed O’cal­laghan won Class 13 in sev­enth over­all aboard his Es­cort Mk2.

Bor­der cham­pion, Mickey Con­lon was sec­ond in Class 13 be­hind O’cal­laghan, al­though John Bon­ner and Rory Kennedy were sand­wiched be­tween them in the over­all re­sults with Bon­ner eighth and Con­lon ninth over­all.

Johnny Jor­dan won Class 11R af­ter sur­viv­ing a big mo­ment on SS2 to fin­ish 10th over­all.

Bri­tish Rally Cham­pi­onship fron­trun­ner Marty Mccor­mack fin­ished fourth in Class 13 in an his­toric-spec Mk2, 12th over­all with Bar­ney Mitchell on the notes.

Don­agh Kelly – the 2015 Ir­ish Tar­mac and Ir­ish Na­tional cham­pion – was on 00 du­ties in a freshly built Opel As­cona 400, re­call­ing the car James Cullen drove to sec­ond on the 1988 Done­gal In­ter­na­tional Rally. The liv­ery was ap­plied by Mitchell. Re­sults 1 Peadar Hurson/ Damien Con­nolly (Ford Fi­esta WRC) 1hr 3m 10s; 2 Joseph Mc­go­nigle/ Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia R5) +1m1s; 3 Ryan Loughran/ Bren­dan Mcelin­ney (Ford Es­cort Mk2); 4 Damien Toner/ Den­ver Raf­ferty (Es­cort Mk2); 5 Brian Bro­gan/ Damien Mcget­ti­gan (Es­cort Mk2); 6 Shane Maguire/ Dar­ragh Kelly (Mit­subishi Lancer E9); 7 Ed O’cal­laghan/ Ray­mond Scott (Es­cort Mk2); 8 John Bon­ner/ Rory Kennedy (Es­cort Mk2); 9 Mickey Con­lon/ Ciaran Mcphillips (Es­cort Mk2); 10 Johnny Jor­dan/ Gary Mc­n­ern (Toy­ota Star­let).

Class win­ners: Ea­mon Kelly/ Conor Fo­ley (Honda Civic); Will Gra­ham/ Steve Davey (Fi­esta R2); Adrian Can­non/ Bernard Gal­lagher (Civic); Maguire/ Kelly; Colin Quirk/ Kaine Tre­anor (Fi­esta R5); Shane Carr/ Ciaran Carr (Vaux­hall Nova); Kevin Mclaugh­lin/ Pa­trick Gal­lagher (Civic); Jor­dan/ Mc­n­ern; Brian Armstrong/ Mo Downey (Es­cort Mk2); O’cal­laghan/ Scott; Toner/ Raf­ferty; Mark Mur­phy/ Michael Hamil­ton (Civic); Stephen Mc­fer­ran/james Mc­k­eefrey (Es­cort Mk2); Aaron Mclaugh­lin/ Enda Mcbride (Fi­esta).

Hurson won with no ALS

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.